#BookADayUK December 2014 Part 1

#bookadayuk takes place on Twitter.  During December Baileys Prize are hosting the event.


 1st:   The book you began the year with – It seems a very long time ago now, but I think it was Carrie by Stephen King.

2nd:   The book you tell everyone about – At the moment I can’t stop talking about Revival by Stephen King and The Collected Books of A. J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin.

3rd:   Favourite classic by a female authorJane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. I can’t even count the number of times I’ve read that book.

4th:   The book you re-read at least once a yearThe Thorn Birds by Colleen McCollough, and no matter how many times I read the book I still cry at the end.

5th:   The best-looking book on your shelf – I would have said The Diviners by Libba Bray, but it was a library book and I returned it last week so it’s no longer here!

6th:   Your favourite female author – I really like Sarah Waters.

7th:   The female author you’d most like to meet – I would love to have met Charlotte Bronte so I could thank for for creating Mr. Rochester

8th:   The book you’d choose if you could only read one againThe Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. I read this book a while ago and it’s been on my mind that I must read it again ever since. It has some gorgeous imagery, and I think it would make a wonderful movie.

9th:   The book you’ve been meaning to read for a while – Just one? Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. I really am going to read it soon!

10th:   The book you’d give your best friendFangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I adored that book in so many ways from Cath as the lead character to the fictional world of Simon Snow and the fic writing that world inspired. A real joy to read and definitely one I would give to a friend.

11th:   The book that makes you cryThe Collected Works of A. J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin made me cry most recently, but it was a brilliant read.

12th:   The book your mum passed on to youThe North and South trilogy by John Jakes. I cannot speak highly enough of this series; it’s such a great read and there are some brilliant characters, both heroes and villains.

13th:   The book with the best advice – I think the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency books by Alexander McCall Smith have brilliant little observations and advice about life, delivered in a gentle manner.

14th:   Favourite winner from the Baileys PrizeHalf of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

15th:   Your favourite book with an ambiguous ending – The ending of The Giver by Lois Lowry was pretty ambiguous.


That’s it for now – I’ll be back at the end of the month with another list of books!  Have you read any of my choices?  What did you think of them?  Let me know in the comments.

 

2 thoughts on “#BookADayUK December 2014 Part 1

Leave a Reply

