The Weekend Post #13

Join me as I look back over the last week (or more in this case) in blogging and books.  This week I am linking up with the Sunday Post Meme @ Caffeinated Book ReviewerShowcase Sunday Books Biscuits and TeaStacking The Shelves by Tynga’s Reviews, and It’s Monday! What Are You Reading by Bookjourney.


I’m back!! It seems so long since I last wrote a Weekend Post.

I’ve had an enforced absence from blogging over the last week or two due to computer problems which saw my computer sent away for repairs. It’s so disheartening, that blank black screen that signals the beginning of computer troubles. Luckily, before it gave up entirely I was able to back everything up (I really should do that more often!) so I didn’t lose anything.
My blog hasn’t been totally inactive as I did have a few posts scheduled, which was more by luck than anything else.
It’s so good to be back to blogging.

This will probably be my last Weekend Post of 2014, mainly because I’m on a bit of a pre-Christmas book buying ban (because there are a few books I may have for Christmas), and losing the computer for so long has left me really behind in terms of reviews.
And then of course there’s Christmas and New Year.

So, my plan is to catch up with the reviews I still need to write, and finish at least one more book before the end of the year. I also want to write my Year End Summary as well. If I manage to get all that done over the next few days I will be pleased.

Onto the books…

New To My Shelves This Week

You know that pre-Christmas book buying ban I just mentioned? It didn’t exactly get off to the best of starts, because I did treat myself to a couple of e-books:

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

The Magicians by Lev Grossman

Hollow City by Ransom Riggs

Books I’ve Reviewed This Week

The Collected Works of A. J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

Want You Dead by Peter James

It Must Have Been The Mistletoe by Judy Astley

From Notting Hill With Four Weddings… Actually by Ali McNamara

Books That Caught My Eye This Week (Must Find Out More)

Red Rising by Pierce Brown – To buy or not to buy, that is the question?

The Seven Sisters by Lucinda Riley – This one caught my eye on a recent library visit mainly because of the striking cover, and I’m pretty certain it had coloured page edges too. The story sounds interesting, and different from the kind of book I would usually choose, so onto my TBR list it must go.

The Line by J. D. Horn – This one really done sound great, and yet again – what a gorgeous cover!! It’s all about witches and magic and is the first in a series. I don’t think I’ll be able to resist this for long.

Events I’ve Participated In This Week

#BookADayUk on Twitter, hosted by Baileys Prize.

I also participated in the latest Trees of Reverie Read-A-Thon but I must confess, due to the absence of my computer throughout the event it’s my least blogged about event, which is a great shame because I always enjoy taking part.  I did manage to get plenty of reading done though, so it’s not all bad.

Other Posts on my Blog This Week

Top Ten Tuesday – Books on my Winter TBR list

2015 Key Word Reading Challenge post

2015 Mount TBR Reading Challenge post

2015 I Love Library Books Reading Challenge

#BookADayUK November 2014 Part 2

November 2014 Monthly Summary

 

So, that’s my bookish news to date. All that’s left for me to say for now is that I wish everyone a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year and see you all in 2015!!

16 thoughts on “The Weekend Post #13

  1. Lexxie @ (un)Conventional Bookviews says:

    Having computer problems is scary! I had a huge problem with my blog this week, it got suspended for 24 hours because I got some kind of malware. I have never been happier to always make daily backups of my blog! And with help from my web-host I was able to get everything working again.

    Your new books look great, I hope you’ll enjoy them all.

    Have a great week and happy reading 🙂

    Like

  2. laurelrainsnow says:

    Every time I think of computer problems, I go into panic mode. For years, my desktop computer was always giving my problems, but so far, the laptop has been wonderful…knock wood!

    I am trying to do things right, like backing things up…but there is probably always something to slip through the cracks.

    Enjoy your week…and here are MY WEEKLY UPDATES

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      Panic mode was me the first time that black screen appeared and I realised I had book notes, photos and all sorts of things I hadn’t backed up. Luckily the computer didn’t die straight away and I managed to save everything. I really must do this more often.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  3. kimbacaffeinate says:

    Red Rising will make my top ten for 2014 and I just read an arc of book two and it totally blew me away..hope that helps. Sorry about the computer trouble. I am taking a much needed bloggy break the last week of December and mentally I am looking forward to it.

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      Sounds like you’d definitely recommend RR then – I think I might treat myself, despite my book buying ban, it’s only one book after all (even though that usually leads to one more, and one more…).
      I think a break is good sometimes, gives you chance to refresh and stay enthusiastic about things for when you come back to it.

      Have a great week!

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      This has definitely been a lesson learned for me, am getting a new external hard drive I think. My old one is massive and has to be connected to the mains which is why I rarely use it. The new ones which run off the computer’s power are more convenient so I know I’d back up more often.

      Hope you enjoy your holiday break 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

