#BookADayUK November 2014 Part 2

#BookADayUK takes place on Twitter and this month it is hosted by Headline.

16th: The best debut you read this year – I read Burial Rites by Hannah Kent and thought it was absolutely brilliant.

17th: Your favourite mystery novelThe Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon was atmospheric and mysterious. I really enjoyed that book, and would probably read it again.

18th: Your favourite sport book – This topic makes me wonder if I’ve ever actually read a sport book, and I think the answer is probably a resounding ‘no’. That being the case can I say Harry Potter, because who doesn’t think Quidditch is a brilliant sport?!

19th: A brilliant book with an eye-catching red cover – I loved the cover of The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters.

20th: Your favourite fictional pet – How about Ghost from Game of Thrones? Direwolves are so fierece!

21st: A book you’ve read that you wish had a sequelThe Girl With All The Gifts by M. R. Carey. I’m torn on this one actually, because I loved the book so much that I would certainly have enjoyed a sequel, but it did have a definite end, which doesn’t particularly require furthering. Melanie and Miss Justineau are such great characters though that I would really like more of their story.

22nd: Your favourite book about a journeyThe Dark Tower by Stephen King – Roland’s journey is definitely epic.

23rd: An awesome autobiography by one of your heroes – It’s not an autobiography as such, but I did like On Writing by Stephen King. I also liked Stephen Fry’s Moab Is My Washpot.

24th: A series you’d happily read all over againHarry Potter by J. K. Rowling, the Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo, A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin, The Dark Tower by Stephen King and The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. I couldn’t possibly have chosen only one for this topic.

25th: A book you want for ChristmasThe World of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin. I keep looking at this one every time I go into the bookstores – the illustrations are beautiful, and it would be a lovely companion book to the rest of the series.

26th: Your favourite cookery or baking book – This one has me baffled.

27th: Your favourite US classic – How about The Great Gatsby?  I love books set in that era.

28th: A book with beautiful title typography – I know this answer is starting to feature heavily in my picks, but I love the type on the Grisha book covers, it’s so grand-looking.

29th: Favourite fictional world – Ravka from the Grisha trilogy, Mid-World from The Dark Tower and Westeros from A Song of Ice and Fire. All of these have the potential to be brutal places, but there are so many great things about each of the places too.

30th: Your favourite book featuring a wedding – Would it be cruel to name A Storm of Swords by George R. R. Martin. There are at least a couple of exceptionally memorable weddings in that book. I think the Red Wedding was one of the best pieces of writing I’ve read in a long time. The build up was fantastic, and the outcome just heartbreaking.

2 thoughts on “#BookADayUK November 2014 Part 2

Leave a Reply

