Top Ten Tuesday – My Winter TBR List

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week they provide a prompt and other lovers of listmaking join in with their own top ten list.

This weeks theme is:   Books on my Winter TBR List…


First and foremost:

Revival by Stephen King – I looked forward to this book for months before it was published. I read all the earliest reviews that appeared online, promising good things from this book, and saw photos from the midnight launch event at a Waterstones branch in London. This book could not NOT be on my list, although I have a confession… I did actually start reading it just as I started compiling this list, so it’s not strictly TBR, but it couldn’t be left off.

Also, I couldn’t have a Winter TBR list without at least a couple of Christmas themed books, so next on my list, I give you…

The Christmas Party by Carole Matthews

It Must Have Been The Mistletoe by Judy Astley

Christmas in the Snow by Karen Swan

And the rest of the books listed below should see me through winter and maybe a little beyond:

Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld – The blurb for this book sounds absolutely intriguing. I love the idea of the two stories, the writer and the character she’s written, so I can’t wait to see how it all comes together in this book.

The Oversight by Charlie Fletcher – This is a recent addition to my list as it caught my eye in the bookstore a couple of weeks ago. I admit I was drawn in by the lovely cover at first, so was really pleased when I read the blurb and it sounded so great.

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas – I really should put this one to the top of my list, as I’m sure this isn’t the first TBR list of mine the book has appeared on. I am determined to start the series soon – I really don’t know why I haven’t already, because it looks and sounds amazing.

The Hawley Book of the Dead by Chrysler Szarlan – A book about magic, what more could you ask for?

Cinder by Marissa Meyer – I’m listing Cinder, but I really mean the whole of the Lunar Chronicles so far.

Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo – I don’t think this one will be TBR for long, because I loved Siege and Storm and really want to get back to the world of the Grisha soon. The only reason I’ve not already read it is because of the finality – once I’ve read it, that’s it, no more Ravka for me. There’s always the re-read option, of course.

 

 

These are some of the books which will occupy my reading time over the winter months. What do you think? Have you read any/all of them? What’s on your TBR list this Winter? As always, would love to hear from you in the comments…

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – My Winter TBR List

    • pagesandtea says:

      Thanks 🙂 I especially can’t wait for Ruin and Rising having loved Siege and Storm so much. I have so many questions about what’s going to happen in that series that I’m really looking forward to reading it.
      Everyone says such lovely things about Throne of Glass that that’s another one I have high hopes for too!

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

    • pagesandtea says:

      Thanks 🙂 I’ve just finished Revival and would definitely recommend it, although it gets pretty scary as the book goes on. I keep hearing great things about Throne of Glass too, so really must get on with reading it, I think I’m missing out at the moment 🙂

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I think I’m going to try and read the Lunar Chronicles published so far before the next one comes out, then I’ll have something bookish to look forward to 🙂 A binge-read sounds excellent too though – I did that with The Hunger Games and it was a great way to read the series.

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      Thanks 🙂 Afterworlds sounds like a great idea for a story. I think it will be one I start quite soon after I’ve read a couple of Christmassy themed books. I fancy something light at the moment.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Lisa says:

    I just started Revival last night! I’m always so excited when Stephen King has a new book (although – confession – I still haven’t read Mr. Mercedes). I haven’t gotten far enough in Revival to have the first clue what it’s actually about, but I have high hopes! I hope you enjoy all your winter books. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

