Sunday Post #12

Stacking the Shelves SundayPost SSsmall 2a

The Sunday Post is hosted @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer.  See rules here: Sunday Post Meme
Showcase Sunday is hosted by Vicky @ Books Biscuits and Tea.  For more information click here.
Stacking The Shelves is hosted by Tynga’s Reviews.  To find out more please visit the official launch page!
It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is hosted by Bookjourney.  More info here.


I wasn’t originally planning to do a weekend post this week; it’s been quite a quiet time really.

But…
Apparently I have absolutely NO self-control when it comes to e-books and price drops, and somehow (I’m sure I have no idea how) I seem to have had a little pre-Christmas book buying spree.
I am really pleased with the books I’ve bought so that convinced me I really should do my weekend update and share the goodness.
Aside from books I’ve purchased, I also couldn’t resist the library, and once again found some great books there, so I have quite a few new books to share.

Onto the books…

New To My Shelves This Week

The following are books I purchased for my e-reader:

Revival by Stephen King – I was SO excited to get this book. I’ve been looking forward to it for months now, ever since I first heard it was going to be published. As soon as I bought this, all other reading plans went straight out the window, because I must read this next.

The Strain by Guillermo del Toro – Since reading The Stand by Stephen King and The Girl With All The Gifts by M. R. Carey I have developed a taste for post-apocalyptic themed books.

Enchantress by James Maxwell

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel – This one sounds brilliant.

I also treated myself to some new Gorjuss magnetic bookmarks, which are really good, and are in my photo below. I love bookish items almost as much as I love books themselves.

And from the library I picked up:

showcase12

The Oversight by Charlie Fletcher

The Christmas Party by Carole Matthews – It’s definitely the season for a couple of lovely festive reads, and I read a previous book by this author so decided to try this one.  Bonus points for the lovely cover.

Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld

The Hawley Book of the Dead by Chrysler Szarlan – The description of this book likens it to The Night Circus and A Discovery of Witches.  That was as much info as I needed to decide I wanted to read it.

Books I’ve Reviewed This Week

The Giver by Lois Lowry

Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

Books That Caught My Eye This Week (Must Find Out More)

Razorhurst by Justine Larbalestier – This book sounds so good.  I love the 1920s – 30s, so am definitely drawn to anything set during that period.  I saw this book whilst reading reviews about The Diviners, which I really enjoyed, so if this is similar then I really can’t wait to read it.

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray – Gorgeous cover alert!

Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis

I must also give an honorary mention in this section to Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell.
I read this book a few years ago, and really enjoyed it. There’s going to be a tv adaptation, which I believe is due sometime next year, and this week I saw one of the promo pics. I’m really excited for this show, because the book was so good. The appearance of the tv show also gives me the perfect excuse to pick up the book for a re-read as well, although I can’t decide whether to wait until the show has aired, otherwise I’ll be comparing every little detail to the book and I do think that takes away some of the enjoyment.

Events I’ve Participated In This Week

#BookADayUk on Twitter, hosted by Headline.  My first summary post can be found here.

Other Posts on my Blog This Week

The TBR Tag discussion post

So, that’s my bookish news to date. What have you been reading lately that you would recommend? Drop me a line in the comments…

25 thoughts on “Sunday Post #12

    • pagesandtea says:

      I loved the book too, even though it’s a long time since I read it, so am really looking forward to it. Not sure for certain when it’s going to be on but I think it might be sometime next year.

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      It was the cover which attracted my attention first – it’s so lovely, so it’s nice to hear the story is good too. Will definitely have to read this one sometime.
      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I hope it’s as good as The Night Circus and Discovery of Witches, if so I’m sure it’ll be really enjoyable.
      I can’t help getting distracted by book shopping either, especially with Christmas coming up. The only problem is I find plenty of books for myself but not too many for other people 😀

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      Sometimes I just can’t help myself 🙂 I fancy a good seasonal read – I’m just finishing Revival by Stephen King, so something light and relaxing will be a nice change after that.

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I know what you mean – It’s a wonder to me sometimes, when I go through my e-reader and see some of the titles on there which I must have bought a while ago then totally forgotten about 😀

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  1. Trish @ Between My Lines says:

    Afterworlds is getting lots of mixed reviews but I loved it. And Station Eleven is getting fantastic reviews so I really want to get my hands on that sometime soon too.
    Love you bookmarks, they are really cute and I find the magnetic ones just so handy. Hope you are having a good week 🙂

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      Glad you enjoyed Afterworlds, I think it sounds great, and Station Eleven is definitely something I think I’ll enjoy.
      I’ve only recently discovered magnetic bookmarks so now I’ve started collecting them – I always manage to lose the regular type 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

