Sunday Post #11

2a SundayPost Stacking the Shelves SSsmall

The Sunday Post is hosted @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer.  See rules here: Sunday Post Meme
Showcase Sunday is hosted by Vicky @ Books Biscuits and Tea.  For more information click here.
Stacking The Shelves is hosted by Tynga’s Reviews.  To find out more please visit the official launch page!
It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is hosted by Bookjourney.  More info here.


It’s been a week of cold days and the nights drawing in ever earlier, and I must confess, there’s nothing I love more than settling down to read as Winter draws closer, shutting out the cold, getting under a warm blanket and losing myself in some fictional world.  I do enjoy this time of year.

I’ve ended up with quite a good hoard of books this week, mostly courtesy of my wonderful local library.
It happens all the time, I go in there to browse, or to take something back, and I seem utterly incapable of leaving the building without having checked out at least one book.
So, without further ado, onto the books…

New To My Shelves This Week 

showcase11

The Returned by Seth Patrick – I saw the tv series a while ago and quite fancy giving this book a go.

Dark Witch by Nora Roberts – SO excited to see this one in the library as I’ve had it in mind as a possible read for a while.

Northanger Abbey by Val McDermid – I’ve never read the original version, but I was instantly drawn to this cover and am looking forward to reading the book.  I might even read the original story sometime.

Trophy by Steffen Jacobsen

Books I’ve Reviewed This Week

The Girl With All The Gifts by M. R. Carey – I LOVED this book and definitely recommend it to anyone in search of a good post-apocalyptic tale.

I’ve managed to catch up a little bit this week too, so will have more reviews up on the blog in the coming week.

Books That Caught My Eye This Week (Must Find Out More)

The Oversight by Charlie Fletcher – I saw this whilst window shopping last week and it really does appeal to me.  I don’t think it will be long before I end up with a copy of it, because it’s just the kind of theme that I love to read.

The Hawley Book of the Dead by Chrysler Szarlan.

Events I’ve Participated In This Week

#BookADayUk on Twitter, hosted by Headline.

The Ho-Ho-Ho Readathon

Other Posts on my Blog This Week

Top Ten Tuesday – These Characters Deserve Their Own Book

Ho-Ho-Ho Read-A-Thon Updates

#BookADayUK November 2014 Part 1

 

So, that’s my bookish news to date. What have you been reading lately that you would recommend? Drop me a line in the comments…

20 thoughts on “Sunday Post #11

  1. kimbacaffeinate says:

    I listened to the Oversight on audio and thought it was brilly. My review posts sometime in December. It is scheduled like the 3rd week. I too enjoy snuggling up and reading during the cold winter months.

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I haven’t read the original Northanger Abbey. I can remember watching a tv adaptation which was okay, but I confess it was the book cover that first drew me to this version 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  2. Nyze says:

    “shutting out the cold, getting under a warm blanket and losing myself in some fictional world.” — OMG. I love doing this too. Amazing books BTW and thank you for dropping by my blog babe ♥

    Like

Leave a Reply

