#BookADayUK November 2014

#bookadayuk takes place on Twitter.  During November Headline are hosting the event.

Below is my list of books selected for days 1 – 15.  There are some great prompts for consideration this month, so feel free to let me know which books/characters you would have chosen.  I’ll be back with another #BookADayUk entry later this month.

1st:   Your favourite hairy heroDewey the Library Cat. I wish my library had a resident cat.

2nd:   A book you can’t wait to read this winterRevival by Stephen King. I am such a big Stephen King fan I’ve been looking forward to this one ever since I first heard he was writing another book. I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy, and was so excited when I read that this book would see King return to horror.

3rd:   Your favourite fictional family – The Weasleys from the Harry Potter series.

4th:   A brilliant epic read (600+ pages) – At well over 1000 I think The Stand by Stephen King is a pretty epic read. I really want to read it again someday, especially now I’ve finished The Dark Tower, but it’s a daunting prospect, all those pages.

5th:   A character you love to hate – Ashton Main from North and South by John Jakes. She’s such a schemer, and goes out of her way to ruin everyone’s happiness, even her own family. Definitely not a nice character, but the trilogy wouldn’t be the same without her.

6th:   A book that reminds you of your school daysJane Eyre. I have fond memories of reading this for English class and loving the story so much that I’ve reread it more than once since.

7th:   The book you wish you owned as a first edition – This list could have been massive, but I went for the Harry Potter series, Pride and Prejudice and Jane Eyre.

8th:   Best book featuring time travel – It’s still got to be 11/22/63 by Stephen King.  I have some other time-travel themed books in my TBR pile but even then I can’t imagine anything overtaking this book as my favourite.

9th:   A book you have to read twice to fully appreciateWe Were Liars by E. Lockhart. I must have missed SO much first time around, because even though I thought I was paying close attention I had no idea what the twist was going to be.

10th:   Favourite fantasy novel – Not just one novel, a whole series. A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin.

11th:   Your favourite WW1 book – I thought Wake by Anna Hope was beautiful. The story deals with the lives of those affected by WW1, some directly, some indirectly. I reviewed Wake earlier this year.

12th:   A book on your shelf you haven’t got round to reading yet – Um, how long do you have?  To keep this list short I’m going to limit myself to just two selections and say the Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness and also the complete Sherlock Holmes collection.

13th:   A book you’d love to see on the big screen – I can’t just settle for one book because I think the Grisha trilogy would be absolutely amazing given the big screen treatment. It would be visually stunning.

14th:   A book you loved but wouldn’t want your mum to read – While I adored IT by Stephen King I can’t imagine it being a book that would appeal to her really.

15th:   A book that made you hungryCharlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl. I have a sweet tooth.

 

So, that’s a mid-month #BookADayUk check in; I’ll be back at the end of the month with my bookish selections.  Have you read any of the books on my list?  What would you have selected for each category?  Would love to know what you think, so drop me a line in the comments…

6 thoughts on “#BookADayUK November 2014

Leave a Reply

