Top Ten Tuesday – These Characters Should Have Their Own Book

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week they provide a prompt and other lovers of listmaking join in with their own top ten list.

This weeks theme is:   Characters I Wish Could Have Their Own Book…


Every so often I come across characters who I would love to know more about, and wish they had their own book. Quite often this occurs more than once in the same book/series, so for this list I’ve divided my choices by series.  I don’t think I’ll get to ten with this list, but some of my selections are more than one person, so maybe that counts?

Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling

The Marauders – I cannot express adequately just how much I would love a whole book, or even a series devoted to the Marauders from the Harry Potter books, and the detailed exploits of their time at Hogwarts. It would be utterly amazing.

Snape – I guess Snape may have a role in the Marauders series mentioned above, but I’d also love anther story, maybe a short story or something, about the young Snape and his friendship with Lily Evans.

The All Souls Trilogy by Deborah Harkness

Philippe De Clermont – Although much of his back story is described during the trilogy, a whole book focussing on his long life/afterlife would be very much appreciated and guaranteed a place on my shelves, plus it could involve Ysabeau, which would also be brilliant.

The Knights of Lazarus – I loved hearing of this group throughout the All Souls trilogy so much that I would definitely read a whole book devoted to them.

A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin

The Hound – I think Sandor Clegane is an intriguing character, and would definitely read a book solely from his point of view – his early life and his troubled relationship with his brother, and why and how his sister died, how he got burned (I know this is addressed in the novels, but this would be told from a different angle), how he came to assume the role of the Hound and serve the Lannisters, and the alternative choices he may have had.  It could also go into what happened after his final appearance so far in the series, because I don’t believe…. (must stop myself here from revealing spoilers).

Brienne of Tarth – I love Brienne’s strength, determination and her whole attitude. I would dearly love a book telling her story, and showing how she became the woman we meet in A Song of Ice and Fire.

Lyanna and Rhaegar – George R. R. Martin weaves together some amazingly detailed historical stories, featuring characters who lived before the timeline started in A Game of Thrones, and I think Lyanna and Rhaegar are intriguing. I would love a book devoted to them.  There are so many theories regarding certain characters which also involve these two that it would be good to read the ‘official’ story.

The Dark Tower

Roland, Cuthbert and Alain – The original Ka-Tet, in their youth, growing up together in Gilead, and learning the art of becoming gunslingers – YES PLEASE!!

 

So, which characters do they think are worthy of their own books, even maybe even a series?  Let me know what you think…

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – These Characters Should Have Their Own Book

  1. TheBookishOwl says:

    A book on Philippe de Clermont would definitely be interesting. Just think of all the amazing adventures he has had and all the historical events that he could have formed!

    Great list 🙂

    Like

  2. samantha1020 says:

    I would love Harry Potter books that actually followed Luna, Neville, and Ginny Weasley. What a great idea about the Marauders too! This is pretty much all to say that I would love anything more written in this world!!!!

    Like

  3. Lisa says:

    Sign me up! I’d read more about any of the characters on your list (and have HP and Harkness characters on mine too — but yes to the ASoIaF peeps as well!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

