The Sunday Post #10

SSsmall SundayPost Stacking the Shelves

The Sunday Post is hosted @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer.  See rules here: Sunday Post Meme

Showcase Sunday is hosted by Vicky @ Books Biscuits and Tea.  For more information click here.

Stacking The Shelves is hosted by Tynga’s Reviews.  To find out more please visit the official launch page!


I miss one week of The Sunday Post and what do you know? I end up with a LOAD of new books in just over a week. I’ll tell all in just a minute…

Do you ever find it overwhelming, the sheer number of books that look utterly amazing, and you KNOW you want to read them, all of them, but you’re restricted by time and the fact that you can only physically read one book at once?!
I wish there was some kind of magic device to split time; that way, we would all have more reading time, and my ever-expanding TBR list would finally start reducing a little bit.

That’s one of the main things I’ve noticed since starting a book blog – I now have an endless book list which should be labelled YOU REALLY NEED TO READ ME NOW!!! because of all the brilliant books it contains which I’ve found through other blogs.

I’ve been thinking my blog needs more in the way of conversation posts. I used to occasionally do Thursday Thoughts, but that’s temporarily having a break, so I’ve been looking for another similarly themed post to link up to, but so far haven’t found anything.

If anyone could point me in the right direction I would be very grateful?
The other option is to just write as the mood takes me.
Anyway, I think that’s enough from me for now.

Onto the books…

New To My Shelves This Week

showcase10(1)
The first two on my list were specially selected for my Ho-Ho-Ho Read-A-Thon reading. The event is still running for a few more days, but I’m not sure whether I’ll finish both books. I should definitely complete one, and maybe make a dent in the other.

It Must Have Been the Mistletoe by Judy Astley

From Notting Hill With Four Weddings… Actually by Ali McNamara – I was especially excited about this book, as I’ve read and enjoyed everything else this author has written.

Want You Dead by Peter James – A work colleague recommended this book to me, with the words “This is the best book I’ve read in the last two years”. High praise indeed, and it probably gives the book a lot to live up to, so I’m looking forward to reading it.

And in ebooks:

Cress by Marissa Meyer – I’ve been on a small buying spree recently and treated myself to the first two books in this series, so I couldn’t leave this one behind. I’m hoping to have the series so far read in time for the new release next year.

Snow Angels by James Thompson

Florence and Giles by John Harding

Books I’ve Reviewed This Week

The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell

Books That Caught My Eye This Week (Must Find Out More)

The Collector by Nora Roberts – I’ve seen a few bloggers giving this good reviews, and I’d like to read some more Nora Roberts, having only read (but very much enjoyed) one of her trilogies in the past.

Revivial by Stephen King – I am such a massive Stephen King fan that I cannot wait for this book to come out in a few days time. I’m really looking forward to his latest work. The day can’t arrive quickly enough when I can get my hands on this book. Even the cover alone is enough to raise my hopes for another great read.

The Enemy by Charlie Higson – This book kept coming up when I was seeking out new post-apocalyptic themed books, and looks like it might be worth a read.

Events I’ve Participated In This Week

#BookADayUk on Twitter, hosted by Headline.

The Ho-Ho-Ho Readathon

Other Posts on my Blog This Week

Have included a couple of posts from the previous week too, as I missed last Sunday’s post…

Top Ten Tuesday – The Halloween Edition

Top Ten Tuesday – Re-Reading…

The Ho-Ho-Ho Readathon Goals and Progress Updates

#BookADayUK October 2014 Part 2

October Monthly Summary

 

So, that’s my bookish news to date. What have you been reading lately that you would recommend? Drop me a line in the comments…

17 thoughts on “The Sunday Post #10

  1. ondbookshelf says:

    I feel exactly the same way about the sheer volume of books I have added to my tbr. I keep thinking I will make a dent in it, then more books get released/reviewed, and I’m back to square one. Oh well, I guess there could be many addictions worse than accumulating books 🙂

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      It’s a brilliant thing, to know you’ll never run out of running material, but sometimes I just get that feeling where I want to read about 5 books, all at the same time, then get frustrated because I can’t 😀

      Like

  2. samantha1020 says:

    I’m adding Want You Dead to my TBR list from that recommendation as well! How could I not?? It looks like you have some really great reading ahead of you. Enjoy! And have a great week!

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      There are never enough hours in the day to read, and my TBR pile is getting bigger all the time!

      I’ve almost finished Want You Dead, it’s a really fast-paced read, and I can’t wait to see how it ends.

      Like

Leave a Reply

