Top Ten Tuesday – If I Was Going To Re-Read, I Would Choose…

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week they provide a prompt and other lovers of listmaking join in with their own top ten list.

This weeks theme is:   Books I would like to re-read…


 

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – I adored this book the first time I read it, and I found the idea that it was narrated by Death to be very unique. I recently watched the film adaptation and thought it was great, even though it was also very sad, and watching that made me want to re-read the book.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern – The imagery in this book was fantastic, and the story was really engrossing. I MUST read this one again, and I hope there will be a film version sometime in the future because it could be brilliant.

The Thorn Birds by Colleen McCullough – Confession time – I’ve already read this at least 5 or 6 times, and yet I would still pick it up at least once more. I would probably also STILL cry at a certain event towards the end stage of the book as well.

Jonathan Strange And Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke – Magic and wizards and a well-developed setting with plenty of detail. It’s a long time since I first read this one, and I believe there’s going to be a tv series at some stage, so I would like to re-read the book.

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart – There’s a big twist in this tale, and I wonder how you would view the story on a re-read, knowing what eventually happens.

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte – Another one I’ve already re-read at least a couple of times, and an old favourite.

The Far Pavilions by M. M. Kaye – This is a wonderful love story between an English man and an Indian princess.  I’ve only read it once so far.

The Dark Tower by Stephen King – I absolutely LOVED this series, so I can’t see that I’ll only read it once, even though it’s a big commitment as it’s a long series and most of the books are fairly lengthy too.

IT by Stephen King – While this is undoubtedly horror, the part that struck me and remained with me was the wonderful creation of the childhood friendship. I loved reading about the Losers battling against the monster that frequents Derry and feeds on the fears of people. There were so many memorable moments in this story that it definitely warrants a re-read.

Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella – Light-hearted and a breath of fresh air, I found this book charming the first time around.

 

Which books would you choose to re-read…?

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – If I Was Going To Re-Read, I Would Choose…

  1. Caitlin says:

    If you ever feel like giving away the Night Circus… Hahaha no, I’ve been dying to get my hands on it for a while because it looks so interesting! The cover and title remind me of something Tim Burton would produce (and just because I love Tim Burton), so it would be super awesome if the book suits his style!

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      Tim Burton was the same name which came to mind for me when thinking about a film version of The Night Circus. He would be a great choice I think. There is so much amazing imagery in the book, it would look brilliant on the big screen 🙂

      Like

  2. Taneika says:

    I’ve seen The Night Circus a fair bit today! I’ve been meaning to read it for ages, but still haven’t 😦 and The Book Thief is phenomenal ❤ That is a book that stays with you for a long time! Here's my Top 10 🙂

    Like

  3. Isa says:

    I really want to read The Night Circus and Jonathan Strange And Mr Norrell and after hearing so much hype about We Were Liars I am really curious about the twist. I feel like after reading your list, there are so many new books I’ve just added to my tbr.

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      Glad you’ve found some new books to add to your list 🙂 That usually happens to me when I’m checking out blogs too! I never saw the twist coming in Liars at all, and rereading now I know would hopefully help me pick up on things I missed first time around.

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I’ve seen many different opinions on Liars but I really enjoyed it and would recommend it.

      I love American Horror Story, but am SO far behind – I haven’t seen the 3rd season yet but am going to get it on dvd soon.

      Like

  4. Amanda says:

    I don’t know if I could bring myself to try Jonathon Strange again-it was so so so long! I liked it but it was quite an undertaking. I do think I have to read the Night Circus again though. I loved it, and I feel like I must have missed details of the circus I’d like to catch on a reread.

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      The Night Circus was just wonderful 🙂 I don’t think I’ll get to reread JS before it’s on tv now (even though I’m not too sure when this will be), but then I can imagine seeing it on screen will make me even more convinced I need to read the book again.

      Like

  5. Lisa says:

    Oh wow, I could easily re-read about 80% of the books on your list — and I’d be totally happy! I’d love to read The Thorn Birds and The Far Pavilions again, and Jonathan Strange is one I should really revisit at some point too. I still haven’t finished the Dark Tower series, not for any good reason. I think I got distracted by non-book stuff in my life after I finished the 3rd book, and just never got around to going back to the series… but I really need to. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

    • pagesandtea says:

      That happened when I first started the Dark Tower too – I read the first book then for some reason got distracted by other things and went back months later to the series, so I reread the first book and carried on from there.

      The Thorn Birds is a real old favourite for me – reading it always makes me want to go to live on a ranch in Australia 😀

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I was SO shocked by that twist. I guess movies have drawn on similar ideas, but the way it was done in We Were Liars, I never saw it coming for a minute. I was guessing at all kinds of things, knowing there was a big twist, but I was so wrong 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

