#BookADayUK October 2014 Update 2

16th:   Most memorable adventure/journey in literature – Roland’s journey to The Dark Tower in the Stephen King series is one that will stay in my memory for a long time.

17th:   The nearest book to you right nowThe Diviners by Libba Bray

18th:   Made me laugh in public – As you can tell from my recent review of The Rosie Project, this book made me laugh out loud in public more than once.

19th:   Made me cry in publicThe Dark Tower by Stephen King.

20th:   Favourite bookworm in literatureMatilda by Roald Dahl.

21st:   One where I fell in love with the narrator – I wouldn’t exactly call it love, but I found the idea of Death narrating The Book Thief to be pretty unique.

22nd:   Makes me want to travel – Every time I re-read The Thorn Birds I always thin it would be marvellous to go and visit an Australian ranch like Drogheda.

23rd:   Best book on diversitySmall Island by Andrea Levy.

24th:   A hidden gem North and South by John Jakes. I love this series, and I know I’ve probably recommended it before, but it fits this category really well, so here it is again,

25th:   Most memorable food/drink moment in literature – The whole of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, especially the moment with the chewing gum which is an entire meal in one.  Just imagine how convenient that would be!

26th:   Clocks go back. Best book on time travel11/22/63 by Stephen King. I loved this book and I’ll definitely read it again.

27th:   Favourite epigraph – I love the verse about the bird with the thorn in its breast at the beginning of The Thorn Birds.

28th:   Has the best advice – It’s a long time since I read the book, but I can remember thinking The Carrie Diaries was a good read in terms of life advice for young people.

29th:   Most memorable fashion moment – Andrea going to work for Miranda Priestly and learnig all about the fashion industry in The Devil Wears Prada

30th:   Favourite experimental book – This one had me beat.

31st:   Spookiest readThe Shining by Stephen King has some of the spookiest scenes I’ve read in a while.

4 thoughts on “#BookADayUK October 2014 Update 2

  1. thenovelprojectchronicles says:

    Hehe, whenever I think of the The Shining I think of Joey in Friends putting the book in the freezer cause it’s just too scary 🙂

    Great list. I completely dropped off the bookadayuk radar this month. I really want to read Small Island too. I read her other book The Long Song and loved Levy’s style.

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I was almost ready to put it in the freezer too at one stage 😀

      I haven’t seen a list for Novembers bookadayuk yet but I hope there will be one as I enjoy taking part.

      I have The Long Song too, but I’ve not read it yet (it’s definitely in the TBR mountain somewhere though!!)

      Like

Leave a Reply

