Top Ten Tuesday – The Halloween Edition

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week they provide a prompt and other lovers of listmaking join in with their own top ten list.

This weeks theme is:   Books/Movies to get into the Halloween Spirit, or Characters I would want to be for Halloween.


I’ve gone for a mix of all of the above for this week’s TTT.

Books

I don’t think you could make a list like this and not include at least one Stephen King novel so I’ve chosen…

IT – This was one of the very first Stephen King books I read and although there’s plenty of horror and scares galore it was the childhood friendship of the Losers that really stayed with me, for they were so well-developed as characters you could almost imagine venturing down to The Barrens with them. What a wonderful group of friends.

The Shining – This book definitely has to be on the list. It has some of the creepiest scenes I’ve ever read. It’s the ultimate Haunted House book, and although I love reading about the place, you won’t find me anywhere near the Overlook Hotel.

Other books…

Dracula by Bram Stoker – Eerie and atmospheric, I love the opening scenes in Dracula. Definitely a book to pick up on a dark and storm Autumn night.

The Diviners by Libba Bray – I’ve not read this yet, but am hoping to start it soon. From the reviews I’ve read so far and the book trailer I saw recently it looks like a great read for this season.

The Woman in Black by Susan Hill – I’ve put this one in books but I think both book and movie warrant a place on my list, as I will always remember seeing the movie in a packed cinema and someone a couple of rows in front screamed and leapt out her seat at least twice.

Movies

All of these are childhood favourites, but I always feel like re-watching them at this time of year, especially The Addams Family, which I watched countless times when I was young. I think it was one of my favourite movies.

The Addams Family

Addams Family Values

Hocus Pocus – Because every Halloween list needs at least one item featuring witches, and singing witches are even better.

Characters

Morticia Addams

Sarah Williams from Labyrinth, especially during the ballroom scene.  Or maybe even Jareth the Goblin King as that sparkly jacket would be great for Halloween.

 

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – The Halloween Edition

Leave a Reply

