The Sunday Post #9

SSsmall Stacking the Shelves SundayPost

The Sunday Post is hosted @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news, recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received.  See rules here: Sunday Post Meme

Showcase Sunday is hosted by Vicky @ Books Biscuits and Tea.  For more information about this feature click here.

Stacking The Shelves is hosted by Tynga’s Reviews.  If you want to find out more please visit the official launch page!


It’s been a quiet week on my blog.

I think taking part in Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-A-Thon last weekend, and then going straight on to participate in the Wonderfully Wicked Read-A-Thon this last week has helped me focus a lot more on actual reading rather than reviewing and updating the blog, which is great in one way but of course the result of this is that I have reviews to catch up on, which I really will try to make an effort with over the course of next week because I’ve read some more really good books, but for now…

Onto the books…

New To My Shelves This Week

All my recent additions are ebooks, some purchased and some borrowed from the library, and include…

The Rabbit Back Literature Society by Pasi Ilmari Jääskeläinen – This one had caught my eye in the bookshop a while ago and sounded so unusual that I’m really intrigued and want to know more. I was going to try and borrow it from the library, but in the end settled for the ebook version instead.

The Giver by Lois Lowry – My only library loan of the week, and also my first library ebook too. I love how easy it was, to use their catalogue, find the book, then download it and instantly start reading. Amazing. I think it’s something I might do more often as I noticed they also have all the Percy Jackson books on their catalogue and I fancy reading those too. There are a few other things I’m interested in too.

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer – I bought this one because I recently bought Cinder and it looks like a really good series so I want to be able to move straight on to reading this once I’ve done with the first book.

Books That Caught My Eye This Week (Must Find Out More)

The Circle by Sara B. Elfgren and Mats Strandberg – This one caught my eye whilst I was buying Cinder and looks like something I might check out in the future.

Cold Magic by Kate Elliott – I saw this book recommended on a blog and it sounds like a great read.

Cress by Marissa Meyer – This one will be the next in the Lunar Chronicles that I’ll purchase, having recently bought the first two in the series.

Feed by Mira Grant – I fancy something else along the zombie/post-apocalypse line as I loved reading The Girl With All The Gifts (and will be adding a review to the blog soon). This series comes highly recommended so it’s definitely one I’ll be adding to my TBR list.

Events I’ve Participated In This Week

#BookADayUk on Twitter, hosted by Books Are My Bag.

Wonderfully Wicked Read-A-Thon

Other Posts on my Blog This Week

Top Ten Tuesday – Series I Want To Read

 

So, that’s my bookish news to date. What have you been reading lately that you would recommend? Drop me a line in the comments…

24 thoughts on “The Sunday Post #9

  1. Cait says:

    I absolutely LOVE Marissa Meyer’s books!! Scarlet is probably my favourite of the 3 out so far, and I’m super excited that we get TWO in 2015! EEEP. I love The Giver too! I have only used my library’s ebook system once. I wasn’t a fan because I had to read it on my computer and that was awkward and annoying. I prefer on my kindle but I couldn’t figure out how to get the book there. *sigh*
    My Sunday Post!

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I hope I’ll get to read the first three before the next one is due out, then I can join in with the anticipation of a new book in a series, which I probably haven’t done since Harry Potter days.

      Really enjoying The Giver so far, and I keep watching the movie trailer online and thinking I really need to watch it once i’m done with the book.

      I prefer reading ebooks on my Kindle too, but I don’t think they’re compatible with the library system, which is a shame because they have a lot of good books to choose from.

      Like

  2. kimbacaffeinate says:

    The Newflesh trilogy is among my favorites and I adore Mira Grant. So glad you are going to read the Lunar Chronicles-I love that series. I will check out Cold Magic. Sounds like you are like me..all reading and not doing all of the other stuff. I didn’t clean last week because of the thon, and book binge.Now I have 3 reviews to write tomorrow and a house to clean. Ooops.

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      lol, this is what happens when bookworms get on a real good reading binge – everything else just pales into insignificance 😀

      I can’t see things improving for me as everyone has such great comments about both Newsflesh and the Lunar Chronicles so the reading binge will probably continue for a while yet. It’s wonderful though, finding books which totally draw you in.

      Good luck with the reviewing and cleaning (if you can tear yourself away from your book!)

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      It will probably be November when I start them too now. I wanted to get going on at least one of them straight away, but then noticed some of my library books have requests on them, so I suppose I’d better get on with them first.

      I must catch up on reviews, but I love it all too – I wouldn’t be without at least one book on the go all the time 🙂

      Like

  3. Katherine P says:

    Enjoy your new books! I’m curious about the Giver and the new Lunar Chronicles books. Both are on my TBR. My library’s great about the ebook loans too and I recently discovered audios from there as well. Have a great week!

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I’m enjoying The Giver so far, and I’d like to watch the movie too.
      I tried an audiobook from the library as well but I just can’t seem to get into them, I don’t think I concentrate as well when I’m not reading the words on a page. I really wish I could get into them because I’m sure I’d read even more that way.

      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      It looks like a great movie and I can’t wait to watch it once I’ve finished the book, which I’m enjoying so far.
      I love the library ebooks, and they’re making the catalogue bigger all the time. Perhaps it’s something your libraries will consider in the future? I hope so 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

