Top Ten Tuesday – New Series I Want To Start

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week they provide a prompt and other lovers of listmaking join in with their own top ten list.

This weeks theme is:  New Series I Want To Start.


 

I’m not sure that a few of these have been published within the last year or two, but all of them are new-to-me and I really look forward to discovering these new series…

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas – I have the first book on my Kindle. I have yet to read any negative feedback at all about this series, so whilst I’m very much looking forward to starting it, I really hope it lives up to all the high praise. It sounds amazing, so I think I’ll like it.

Chaos Walking by Patrick Ness – I have a complete set of this trilogy, and I must confess I’ve probably had it for well over a year already but because I own it, rather than having borrowed it from the library, I seem to keep putting off starting it in favour of more library books.

Anna/Lola/Isla by Stephanie Perkins – I think these books will be a breath of fresh air and a little light relief for me, which is always a good thing.

The Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon – Another series where I’ve had the first book for SO long and somehow never got around to starting it yet. I KNOW I’ll be watching the recent tv series as soon as it’s available on dvd, so I really would like to read at least the first book before I start watching that.

The Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss – A common theme of this top ten for me is that I already own this book and still haven’t got around to starting it. Hopefully writing this list will inspire me to make a dent in the books I already own before deciding to either buy or borrow any more. I think this fantasy series will be a great read.

The Maddaddam trilogy by Margaret Atwood – I decided I wanted to read this trilogy having read and loved Stone Mattress recently. I’ve heard a lot of praise for these books, so I’m looking forward to reading them.

The Farseer trilogy by Robin Hobb – I was eyeing up Fool’s Assassin recently, and was about to read that when I was advised that the main character had already appeared in two previous trilogies, so I decided it would be better to start from the very beginning.

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stepfather – I keep seeing the latest instalment in this series appearing on other book blogs and the cover alone makes me want to pick up that book, but I’m going to resist and read the series in order.

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer – I just bought Cinder. The book caught my eye because of the striking cover art and the story sounds so good that I don’t think this one will be sitting on the TBR pile for too long.

The Cousins O’Dwyer trilogy by Nora Roberts – I’ve only read one other series by Nora Roberts, which was the Inn Boonsboro books. They were a real change from the type of book I would normally choose, but were recommended to me. I gave the first book a go and had to read the others in the series too because I enjoyed it so much, so I’ve been on the lookout for something else by this author and this series sounds appealing.

 

So, which new series are you hoping to read soon, or can you suggest any other new series I may enjoy?

 

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – New Series I Want To Start

  1. TheBookishOwl says:

    You should definitely start reading Stephanie Perkins’ books! They’re great, light reads, and I really loved them.

    Like you, I also have the complete Chaos Walking trilogy although I haven’t read them yet. I plan to start on them soon, though!

    Great list! 🙂

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I want to read the Outlander books before watching the tv series. I’ve had the first book for absolutely AGES now so really need to put it to the top of my TBR list. Everyone speaks so highly of Throne of Glass that I can’t wait to start that one too.
      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

