Wonderfully Wicked Read-A-Thon October 2014

My Shelf Confessions

There is nothing I love more than a good Read-A-Thon.  I find taking part in an event really motivates me to get reading (although at the moment I’ve had some wonderful books come through from the library so I’ve been inspired to read a LOT).

The latest event I’ve decided to join in is the Wicked Wildfire Read-A-Thon hosted by My Shelf Confessions.
I’m actually a couple of days late in starting this time due to other commitments and a busy weekend, but I’m really looking forward to the remaining time and will be doing my best to read as much as I can.

Here’s a little intro about the Wicked Wildfire Read-A-Thon:

The Wicked Wildfire Read-A-Thon is a time when we all get together to dedicate the days of October 17-27 to as much reading as possible. You read as much as you can in order to get yourself a little further through that huge to-read pile! We know real life gets in the way and even if you can’t participate more than one day, you’re welcome to join in on the fun!


 Reading Goals:

I am already reading The Girl With All The Gifts so I hope to finish that. I also want to read Siege and Storm and The Diviners, so hopefully I’ll have time to begin at least one of these during the Read-A-Thon.

I will add daily progress updates to keep track of how much reading I’ve done each day.

Daily Progress

Monday 20th October

Starting off my Read-A-Thon by carrying on with the book I was already reading, The Girl With All The Gifts. When I started reading for this event I was at page 300, so my page count will go from there. Am still really enjoying the book, so much so that I don’t want it to end.

Pages read today:  60
Total pages read:  60

Tueday 21st October

Quite a good day for reading.  I managed to finish The Girl With All The Gifts, which was absolutely brilliant and I really recommend it.  Now I just have to settle on what I’m going to start reading next.

Pages read today:  100
Total pages read:  160

Wednesday 22nd October

Not content with finding one new book to start – I found two.  I’m reading one book and one ebook.  My book is Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo (It’s SO GOOD so far, really picks up the pace right from the very beginning) and the ebook is The Giver by Lois Lowry.

Pages read today:  130
Total pages read:  290

Thursday 23rd October

I’m slowing down with my reading.  I hope this isn’t going to be the start of a reading slump.  It shouldn’t be, as I’m enjoying both the books I’m reading at the moment.  I think I fancy something a little different next though, maybe Anna and the French Kiss, or Sophie Kinsella’s Shopaholic series.

Pages read today:  50
Total pages read:  340

Friday 24th October

Picked up the pace a bit more again today and got a decent amount of reading done.

Pages read today:  100
Total pages read:  440

Saturday 25th October

But didn’t manage to get that much done today, in fact, I’ve barely read anything at all…

Pages read today:  10
Total pages read:  450

Sunday 26th October

Am doing really well with reading Siege and Storm now, and have less than 100 pages left to read.  If I carry on at this pace I may just be able to get it finished before the Read-A-Thon concludes, which would be great.

Pages read today:  150
Total pages read:  600

Monday 27th October

I DID IT!! I finished Siege and Storm.  Am SO pleased to have finished another book during this Read-A-Thon.  It’s been great, and I would definitely join in again.

Pages read today:  78
Total pages read:  678

8 thoughts on “Wonderfully Wicked Read-A-Thon October 2014

    • pagesandtea says:

      I think there’s still time to join in if you’d like to. Good luck with NaNo! That’s something I really want to try sometime, but have nothing planned for it right now so it won’t be this year 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

