The Sunday Post #8

SundayPost Stacking the Shelves

The Sunday Post is hosted @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news, recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received.  See rules here: Sunday Post Meme

Stacking The Shelves is hosted by Tynga’s Reviews.  If you want to find out more please visit the official launch page!


 

I’m late in writing up my Sunday Post this week as I’ve been having a great time participating in Dewey’s 24 hour Read-a-thon, which finished earlier today. It was a great experience, and I would definitely participate next time around too. As predicted I didn’t manage to read for the full 24 hours, but I did read a fair amount, so I was happy. I’ve put a link to my progress updates at the end of this entry.

It’s a busy time for reading events as the Wonderfully Wicked Read-A-Thon has also just started. Although I’m late in starting I will be joining in with this event starting from tomorrow. I do love a good reading event, even though the end result for me is usually as massive new TBR list as I find so many books I want to read when I visit new book blogs throughout the event.

Onto the books…

New To My Shelves This Week:

I’ve had a couple of additions to my shelf this week. I bought Cinder as an ebook and borrowed the new Susan Hill from the library.
 
Cinder by Marissa Meyer – This is the first in a series called The Lunar Chronicles and I’ve wanted to read it for a while.

Printer’s Devil Court by Susan Hill – What better time of year for a good Susan Hill ghost story?!

Books I’ve Reviewed This Week:

The Taxidermist’s Daughter by Kate Mosse

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

Both of these were books I really enjoyed.  I seem to be having a good run with the books I choose at the moment, which I hope will continue for a while.

Books That Have Caught My Eye This Week (Must find out more):

I have the upcoming Ho-Ho-Ho Read-A-Thon in mind with a couple of the Christmas themed books that caught my attention this week, so some of these are potential reads for that event.

It Must Have Been The Mistletoe by Judy Astley – Christmas shared in a house by the sea sounds wonderful, so I hope I’ll be able to get a copy of this book in time for the Read-A-Thon.

The Christmas Party by Carole Matthews – I admit it was the lovely cover which first caught my attention with this book, but I think the story will make for a good festive read.

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel –  Not a potential book for the Read-A-Thon, but something I think will appeal to me for another time.

Something else to catch my eye this week was the book trailer for The Diviners.  I had little idea there were such things as book trailers until I saw this particular one mentioned by Emily at Books & Cleverness.  This is a book that I can’t wait to start reading as soon as I’ve finished The Girl With All The Gifts, so I had to watch the trailer.  I’ve read many comments saying the book is creepy and this trailer definitely lives up to that(!!!) but I’m still really looking forward to reading it.

Events I’ve Participated In:

#bookadayuk on Twitter, hosted by Books Are My Bag

I also posted my first entry for this earlier this week, and you can find the link below.

Other Posts/Summary of Activity on my Blog This Week:

Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-A-Thon October 2014 Progress Updates
Top Ten Tuesday – Places I Want To Visit
#Bookadayuk October 2014 Part 1

13 thoughts on “The Sunday Post #8

  1. Katherine P says:

    Congrats on participating in the Readathon! That’s on my list of blog events I want to do soon. I’ve had CInder on my TBR for awhile and am looking forward to reading it. Have a great week!

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      It was really good, even though I didn’t read for the entire time. I’ve wanted to read Cinder for a while too so was glad to get it, even though it’ll probably sit on my TBR pile for a while now 🙂

      Like

  2. Nyze says:

    It’s nice that you enjoyed the Dewey’s 24 hour Read-a-thon. I’m thinking of joining but I still dont have much time to do. Too bad. Anyway, I’m sure you’ll love Cinder. I love that series 🙂

    Thanks for dropping by my blog ♥

    Like

Leave a Reply

