Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-A-Thon: October 18th 2014

dewey1

For more information about this event, see the website.

This will be the first time I have participated in the 24 hour Read-a-Thon, and I am really excited to be taking part.  I love a good reading event.

I will update this post periodically during the event, to track my progress.  Alas, I doubt I will manage to read for the full 24 hours, but I am going to do as much reading as possible.  Happy reading everyone!


 1pm – The Readathon event is starting now in my time zone but I’m out so I’ve scheduled this post and am hoping to grab my first bit of reading time during my break.  When I get home I’ll update on any progress and then try to add regular updates to this entry.  I’m really looking forward to this event, and have picked a book I’ve been wanting to read for a long time now – The Girl With All The Gifts.

4pm – I am home, and ready for some serious reading time. I started my book during my break and was so drawn in even in the first few pages that I found it hard to tear myself away when I had to get back to work, so I think this is a read I’m going to really enjoy. I’m glad I’ve picked a good book for my first ever 24 hour readathon.

Opening Meme

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?   The UK

2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?   The Girl With All The Gifts. I don’t know whether I’ll manage to fit in reading anything else, as the first few pages of this book make me think it’s going to be one to savour. If I do manage to finish it the next book I’ll move on to read will probably be The Diviners by Libba Bray, which I’m also very much looking forward to.

3) Which snack are you most looking forward to?   A cup of hot chocolate with some digestive biscuits later on this evening. Nothing like some cosy snacks for a cosy evening reading session.

4) Tell us a little something about yourself!   I’m late starting the event as I’ve just had a pretty busy day at work, so have a bit of catching up to do.  I’m new to the book blogging world but am really enjoying it so far.

5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?   This is my first event and the part I’m looking most forward to is visiting the blogs of other people who are taking part and finding new books to add to my TBR pile. Since I started book blogging and taking recommendations from the blogs I read I seem to be having a run of good books.

 

5pm – Still going strong with The Girl With All The Gifts. On the main website I noticed an entry about guilty pleasures. Mine was definitely the chocolates I had with a hot cup of tea as I settled down to read, but I doubt that will be the last of it before the day is through.

As I thought might happen, I’m getting pretty distracted from reading by going online to visit the event website and clicking on various links to blogs. Even though it’s affecting my page count I think this is one of the best things about a readathon. I forecast a much-expanded TBR list by the time this event concludes. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

 

6pm – MY BOOK IS SO GOOD!!!  I can’t read it fast enough, I just really need to know that everything is going to be okay for Melanie and Miss Justineau, when I have a horrible feeling that it probably isn’t.  Am still taking some time to go online and update my blog, and also check out Twitter.  It’s brilliant that so many people are participating in this event, and I in slightly in awe of those who are going to do the full 24 hours; I know there’s no way I’ll manage that.  It’s definitely something to consider for another readathon though.

 

7pm – Still going strong, but I think it’s time to take a walk and stretch my legs a bit.  Also probably time for a snack and another cup of tea.  Hope everyone else is having a great readathon and that they’re enjoying their book as much as I’m enjoying mine.

 

8am – After a lot more reading and a little bit of sleeping I thought it was time for another update on my blog entry. Still getting on really well with The Girl With All The Gifts. I don’t know whether I will finish it by the end of the readathon but it’s so good that I don’t want to rush it so I don’t mind really how much more I manage to read.
I’ve been reading for the last couple of hours after waking up far too early for a Sunday morning!

 

1pm – And – that’s it!! The Readathon is over. I ended up reading 300 pages, all from the one book. It’s been great being part of this event, and I’d definitely do it again. Just off to fill in the final meme, then will probably get straight back to reading.

End of Event Meme

Which hour was most daunting for you?   I didn’t read for the full 24 hours so I don’t think there was a particularly daunting hour, although the final hours, wondering what my final page count would be were a little daunting.

Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? The book I read this time, The Girl With All The Gifts has been a really good read, and I would recommend it. I also remember loving The Hunger Games trilogy too.

Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?   As I reader I could try to read for slightly longer.

What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?   I loved the online interaction; it was a great and welcome addition to reading.

How many books did you read?   Just the one.

What were the names of the books you read?   The Girl With All The Gifts.

Which book did you enjoy most?   See above

Which did you enjoy least?   N/A

How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?   I would certainly take part again as a reader, I thought it was a great event.

5 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-A-Thon: October 18th 2014

  1. Cait says:

    I’m sooo glad you like The Girl With All the Gifts!! IT IS MY FAVOURITE. I just couldn’t stop reading it and it’s all so: omg. Very very good. ^-^ HEhe, I’m very eloquent. I’ve never done a read athon or anything like this, but curling up with a book and some hot chocolate sounds amazing right now. 😉

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      It’s SO AMAZING! Am getting to the point now where I’m wondering how it’s all going to end and feeling worried that it’s going to end badly for Melanie and Justineau. I can’t decide whether I want to speed up and get to the end or slow down and make it last longer 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

