Top Ten Tuesday – Books Have Made Me Want To Visit…

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week they provide a prompt and other lovers of listmaking join in with their own top ten list.

This weeks theme is:  Places Books Have Made Me Want To Visit (Real or Fictional).


 

Derry – I’m a huge Stephen King fan, and several of his works centre around Derry, Maine. With so much going on, from being the hunting ground of a killer clown, or a stop-off for a time travelling would-be president-saver, who wouldn’t want to visit? I’d particularly like to go to the Derry library as staffed by Mike Hanlon from IT, although preferably not while Pennywise is a patron there. Also, I’ve been watching a lot of Haven. I love that series, and think the filming locations are absolutely gorgeous. This is what Derry looks like to me.

Gilead – from Stephen King’s Dark Tower series, Gilead is the childhood home of the last Gunslinger Roland Deschain, and I really wish more of the story was set there as what bit is shown throughout the series is intriguing. I would love a book or a series of books devoted to Roland’s youth and his developing friendship with Cuthbert and Alain.

Winterfell – Home of the Stark family in A Song of Ice and Fire, the cold, bleak North still holds a certain romantic appeal. I could don a thick fur coat and explore the wonder that is Winterfell.

Whitby – This one is inspired by Dracula, and the arrival of the Demter into Whitby harbour during that storm. It’s a scene I don’t think I will ever forget, and from the pictures I’ve seen of Whitby online it really lends itself to being the place Dracula first finds when he comes to England – the abbey on the hill, or the ruins of the abbey look suitably gothic and atmospheric, and the rest of the place is very picturesque and romantic.

The Night Circus – Wherever the Night Circus arrives without warning, that’s where I want to be, exploring and enjoying all the delights of the many shows within the circus.

Dorne – I’m not usually a sun seeker at all, but the way George R R Martin brings Dorne to life is so exotic and enticing that even I would brave the sun and heat (as a bonus, I would cool down with some good Dornish wine!).

Mirkwood – I loved the way Mirkwood was realised on screen in The Hobbit movies and even though I have a great fear of spiders, I would risk them to be able to visit the Elf King’s home.

1920s London as featured in the Jeeves books by P G Wodehouse – I love the comic turn that P G Wodehouse gives to the period in which Bertie Wooster was evading irate aunts and potential wedding companions, and the fashions of the period were gorgeous too, so count me in for a trip back in time.

Hogwarts – I don’t think this one needs too much explanation, does it?

The Paris Opera – As haunted by the Opera Ghost in Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux. I find the fact that so much of that grand building is below ground level, complete with underground lake, is absolutely brilliant. I can’t imagine they let the public down into those areas, but I’m sure it would be a sight to see if they did.

 

So, where have books inspired you to want to visit?

 

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books Have Made Me Want To Visit…

  1. Sarah C. says:

    The Night Circus was on my list too! I would love to be a reveur, on the lookout for the next place it appears, dressed in black and red.
    And I hadn’t thought of the Paris Opera House, but that would be magnificent too. That chandelier!

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I can’t believe I STILL haven’t read any Poirot/Christie yet, but I did request And Then There Were None from the library so I’ll start with that one then maybe try some Poirot after that.

      Like

  2. thenovelprojectchronicles says:

    Hehe. When you said Derry my first thoughts were Co. Derry in Northern Ireland, then I had to face-palm myself because of course you were talking about Stephen King.

    Oh, 1920’s London would be great. I’m a sucker for Downton Abbey and love anytime they go to London. I still must get around to reading PG Wodehouse – maybe next time I visit the library (which will be soon I hope) I’ll pick out one of his novels.

    http://thenovelprojectchronicles.com/6-places-books-have-made-me-want-to-visit/

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I love Downton Abbey too. It’s actually a shame that’s not based on a book because it would definitely have made my top ten list if it was.

      Wodehouse is great for a good laugh, especially with his Jeeves stories.

      Like

  3. shannonmiz says:

    Ohh, Maine! I have always wanted to go to Maine. I remember watching Stephen King’s “Storm of the Century” and thinking how nice Maine would be, if I wasn’t completely, epically terrified. And 1920s London sounds so incredible. Talk about history! Great list!

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      Thanks 🙂 I haven’t seen Storm of the Century so must find out more about that, but Haven, based on a story by King is filmed somewhere in that part of the world, I think and it really does look wonderful.

      Like

  4. Lindsay says:

    Interesting choices! I didn’t even think to put the Night Circus on my list, but I sure would love to go there along with several other places you mentioned, like 1920s London and Winterfell (but I’ve only watched the “GOT” tv show so I couldn’t put it on my list).

    Like

Leave a Reply

