The Sunday Post #7

SSsmall SundayPost Stacking the ShelvesIMG_2789

The Sunday Post is hosted @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news, recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received.  See rules here: Sunday Post Meme

Showcase Sunday is hosted by Vicky @ Books Biscuits and Tea.  For more information about this feature click here.

Stacking The Shelves is hosted by Tynga’s Reviews.  If you want to find out more please visit the official launch page!

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Linda from Silly Little Mischief.


What a week! Pouring rain, high winds and dark nights are drawing in. It’s a sign that Autumn is well and truly underway, which I’m pretty glad about; I’m not really a sun-seeker or a fan of all this hot weather. There are few things I enjoy more than spending a rainy afternoon lost in a good book.

I signed up for Dewey’s 24 hour Read-a-thon on October 18th. I’m really looking forward to this event as it will be the first time I’ve participated. I doubt I’ll be able to manage the full 24 hours, but I’m going to read as much as I can during the day. I’ve been thinking about the best way to document my progress throughout the event. I have a couple of ideas, but will probably opt for one master post which I’ll update regularly.

New To My Shelves This Week:

Can you believe this week only saw one new book come into my life? A book I requested from the library came in.
That said, I’m finally working my way through my massive pile of library books to the point where I no longer feel overwhelmed by the sheer number of loans I have against my library card, so it’s not a bad thing. So, this week’s book is…

Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan


Books I’ve Reviewed This Week:

The Summer Without You by Karen Swan

The Handsome Man’s De Luxe Café by Alexander McCall Smith


Books That Have Caught My Eye This Week (Must find out more):

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch – The lovely cover was the first thing to catch my eye.  I saw it appearing on a few book blogs and wanted to find out more.  The story sounds really enjoyable too, so I’ll be keeping an eye out for this book when it hits the shelves.

Night Film by Marisha Pessl – Everything about this sounds intriguing.  I’ve checked the library catalogue and there copies in stock, so I think I’ll put in a request (once I’ve read maybe one or two more books that I already have on loan!).

The Incarnations by Susan Barker – I saw the cover for this book on Twitter and spent a while just looking at the great detail and illustration within that main picture.  Reading the blurb the book reminded me of 1Q84, which I really liked, so I can see myself reading this at some stage.

Events I’ve Participated In:

#bookadayuk on Twitter, hosted by Books Are My Bag
I’ll be updating my blog with my first set of books for this during the course of next week.

Other Posts/Summary of Activity on my Blog This Week:

Thursday Thoughts – Reader Problems

26 thoughts on “The Sunday Post #7

    • pagesandtea says:

      Fall is definitely my season, I’m not much of a summer person really 🙂
      Glad you enjoyed Snow Like Ashes, I’ll have to have a read of your review because I’m looking forward to the book very much.

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      🙂 I don’t think I’ll manage the full 24, but I’ll try to read as as much as I can. Maybe if I participate in the next one I’ll do more, but I don’t know if even the most amazing book in the world could keep me from my sleep 😀

      Like

  1. fuonlyknew says:

    I live in the south and I’ve spent a lot of time reading by the pool and taking dips before the weather gets too chilly. I always look forward to that first cool down. Getting out warm clothes and such. But its not long before I yearn for the heat again. I’m a warm weather gal:) It’s also been very dry for this time of year. Could use some rain here. A good excuse to blow off the day and read. LOL
    here is my Sunday Post – http://fuonlyknew.com/2014/10/12/whats-new-on-my-bookshelf-82-and-the-sunday-post/

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      Reading by the pool sounds absolutely heavenly, you’re very lucky 🙂 It’s another day of pouring rain here today, so am looking forward to getting the heating on and settling down to start The Girl With All The Gifts

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      Can’t wait to read your thoughts on the book as it’s one I really want to read.

      I think I may try Wonderfully Wicked too, but with the 24 hr read-a-thon and other commitments I might be a day or two late in starting.

      Enjoy your week.

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      The library is great but you go from having a massive pile of books TBR to having a massive pile of books to TBR which also have a time limit on them 😀 I love the library though, gives me chance to discover authors I probably wouldn’t have read otherwise.

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      Thanks 🙂 I love books about books and bookshops, so I have high hopes for Mr Penumbra’s… I doubt I’ll manage the full 24 hours on the read-a-thon, but I’ll do what I can.

      Enjoy your week!

      Like

  2. samantha1020 says:

    I love a good rainy day as well! And Fall is my absolute favorite time of the year so I am trying to appreciate this colder weather without snow falling yet 🙂 I hope that you have a great week in books!

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I love snow too, when it first falls and is nice and crispy white. After that it gets to be a bit of a nuisance when trying to get to work, but I do love sitting down for a good read on a cold day 🙂

      Like

  3. readerbuzz says:

    I usually opt for one long post from Readathon. And, really, it’s okay not to do the whole 24-hours…it’s just fun to join in!

    readerbuzz.blogspot.com

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I think that’s what I’m going to do, one post with quite regular updates added. After reading your post I can definitely say I’ll be doing read-a-thon lite, and really looking forward to it 🙂

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      🙂 Sounds like our idea of heaven is pretty similar, only I do cross stitch instead of knitting, which I did try to learn but I’m so clumsy I kept dropping stitches which was really frustrating.

      Like

      • Lark @ The Bookwyrm's Hoard says:

        When I was knitting a shawl, I kept miscounting and having to rip back four to ten rows… repeatedly. I was about to give up entirely, but I did manage to finish it. But on the whole, I find knitting soothing! Cross-stitch looks wonderful, but when I did embroidery I was always tangling and knotting the thread. Sounds like it’s a good thing there are different crafts to suit different temperaments and talents!

        Like

Leave a Reply

