The Sunday Post #6

SSsmall SundayPost Stacking the Shelves

The Sunday Post is hosted @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news, recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received.  See rules here: Sunday Post Meme

Showcase Sunday is hosted by Vicky @ Books Biscuits and Tea.  For more information about this feature click here.

Stacking The Shelves is hosted by Tynga’s Reviews.  If you want to find out more please visit the official launch page!


It feels like so long since I made a Sunday post, yet I’ve only been offline for a week, so it’s not really that long, but doesn’t time fly?
So many days, so many new books have caught my attention, and so many more bookish events are coming up.
Also, FINALLY Autumn is starting to feel like Autumn. It’s much cooler, which is great news.

Dewey’s 24 hour Read-a-thon is coming up on October 18th. I didn’t know whether to sign up as I wasn’t sure how much I would be able to commit to reading, but when I looked into the time differences I believe the official start time for the UK is 1pm. I might give it a go as I’ve never participated in a pretty short event before and it would be a new challenge.

I’ve also been looking around for other read-a-thons to join in with, and am thinking at some point of trying to make some kind of master post with as many events as I can find listed, so that I don’t miss out on anything. (If anyone knows of such a list already in existence please do let me know!).

I’ve seen a Review-a-Thon event too, which I think I’ll have to sign up for next month if I don’t start catching up on my reviews soon.

New To My Shelves This Week:

  DSC03072

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion – I was inspired to get this book when I noticed a comment on someone’s blog saying their library had a request list of well over 300 people! ‘What is this much-sought-after book I’m missing out on?’, I wondered to myself.  Now I can find out.

The Handsome Man’s De Luxe Café by Alexander McCall Smith – I do love The No 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series, so I’m really looking forward to this.

The Taxidermist’s Daughter by Kate Mosse – Another one I’m excited about as I’ve read most of Mosse’s other books and always enjoyed them.

The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen – I decided to treat my Kindle to a new book, and I’ve been wanting to read this one for a while, so was pleased when it came up on a price drop website.

Books I’ve Reviewed This Week:

The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters – Absolutely loved this book, it was brilliant.

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Books That Have Caught My Eye This Week (Must find out more):

Wreck This Journal by Keri Smith – Okay, so it’s not strictly a book to read, but I saw this whilst book shopping a few days ago and couldn’t help but have a look inside. It features ways to encourage you to be creative in the destruction of the pages and the book itself. Very unique, and I would imagine it’s great for relieving stress.
The only problem is, I’m a person who’s totally the opposite to everything this book encourages – I like shiny new covers, and pristine pages which I try to keep in good condition, so who knows how I would tackle this kind of project? It’s an interesting idea though.

The Monogram Murders by Sophie Hannah – I recently decided the time has come to try my first Agatha Christie, as somehow I’ve missed out until now, so, with that in mind my attention was caught when I saw this book on the bookshop shelf, and I would love to read this alongside some of the original Christie novels.

Suspicion by Alexandra Monir  – I keep coming across this really eye-catching book cover when I visit other book blogs, and I’ve seen it so often that I’ve become intrigued about the book. Will probably check this out when it’s available.

Dark Witch by Nora Roberts – This is the first book in a trilogy which sounds quite interesting. I’ve read the Inn Boonsboro trilogy by this author and really enjoyed it. It was miles away from the kind of thing in would normally select, but maybe that was what made it so enjoyable.

Events I’ve Participated In:

#bookadayuk on Twitter, which for September was hosted by We Love This Book (more info at this post ).
Earlier this week I posted my second round up of books submitted for this challenge, and here is the link to my first post.

In October the event is being hosted by Books Are My Bag.
For more information visit their Storify site.
I’ll be adding blog entries for my own books for this later in the month.

The Trees of Reverie Read-A-Thon ended last week and I really enjoyed participating in that each day.
Here is my initial TBR/Goals post, with daily updates, and here is my final summary, including links to the Daily Challenges I attempted.

Other Posts/Summary of Activity on my Blog This Week:

Top Ten Tuesday – Books on my Fall TBR List
Teaser Tuesday – The Paying Guests
Trees of Reverie TBR Goals/Daily Updates
Trees of Reverie Daily Challenge Part 2
Trees of Reverie Read-A-Thon Final Summary
#BookADayUK Part 2
September Monthly Summary

26 thoughts on “The Sunday Post #6

  1. Deasy says:

    I love Mosse and Smith’s covers. I think I’ll try to browse about them after this. I’ve been thinking about reading Eleanor and Park too. Your review will be helpful 😉
    Enjoy your week!

    Like

  2. beckireads says:

    It looks like you’ve got some interesting books this week, which I hope you enjoy. Loved your section on books that have caught your eye. Wreck This Journal has also caught my eye recently, though I’m thinking of gifting it to someone. And The Monogram Murders looks absolutely gorgeous and I’m tempted too, but if you want to read Christie, then you should in my opinion read Christie and not someone playing with her world/characters – if you want a standalone, I recommend ‘And then There Were None’. That’s not to say don’t read Monogram Murders, but maybe try some of Chrisite’s work first because there is a LOT of it.

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I can’t believe that I’ve somehow missed Christie up until now.
      And Then There Were None is one I’ve requested from the library, it seems to be quite popular but hopefully I’ll get it soon. I’ve heard quite a few people say they really enjoyed it so I’ll definitely read that (and maybe more) before having a read of Monogram Murders.

      Usually I love books kept in great condition so Wreck This Journal would be totally different for me – I’m still not sure I could cause so much damage to a book though 😉

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  3. Ellie says:

    Dewey’s readathon is so much fun. I usually allow myself some sleep so don’t do a full 24 hours. My boyfriend is considering doing some of it with me this year though, so we’ll see if that’s a help or hindrance!

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I think I’ll definitely be sleeping too 😀 It will be a new challenge for me so I’m looking forward to it. Hopefully before the day I will finally settle on a way to document my progress.

      Enjoy your week!

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I’ll have to check out your blog for meme ideas, I sometimes do Top Ten Tuesdays, and Thursday Thoughts, but I’m always on the lookout for something to inspire my blog entries too.

      Like

  4. kimbacaffeinate says:

    Ok you have me curious about Rosie Project. I usually host a thon in October called Fraterdest but with the wedding I didn’t do it..but look for one again next year. April @My Shelf Confessions hosts the Wicked Read-a-thon Oct 17th to 27th.

    Like

  5. Audrey D Wilkerson (@InkandPage) says:

    Funny…I read Eleanor & Park before Fangirl, and though I liked both very much, I think I like E&P slightly better. I know that Fangirl would not have been right without reading snippets of the fan fiction, but some the passages went on forever. It was sometimes too much for me, plus, as someone who has to read with reading glasses, it was hard to do because of the typeface that was used. Silly, I know, but it meant that I only skimmed the longer ones.

    Hope you have a great week! Here’s my The Sunday Post

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I think in Fangirl I would have been happy with even bigger sections of the fan fiction as I really enjoyed reading about Simon and Baz and their adventures. I can remember that the edition I borrowed from the library had the fan fic sections in smaller type, so I understand how that could be a bit trying at times.

      Enjoy your week and thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  6. Katherine P says:

    I love Agatha Christie (I’m actually doing a reread right now) and am very curious about this new book. I’d love to see more thoughts on it. If you do read Christie I recommend And Then There Were None, Death on the Nile, Sleeping Murder or Man in the Brown Suit. I really want to do the read-a-thon but I’m not sure it will work for me this year. I’m hoping next year I’ll have my act together! I’ve looked at the Wreck This Journal as well and had very similar thoughts to yours! Have a great week!

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      Thanks for the Christie recs, I’ll add them to my list. And Then There Were None is the first one I’m hoping to read. I requested it from the library and there’s a bit of a waiting list, but I should get it soon.

      Wreck This Journal looks SO good, but I’m not sure I could cause that much damage to a book, I love well preserved books too much 😀

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Leave a Reply

