#BookADayUK September 2014 Update 2

16th: Favourite picture book – I think the illustrations in the Beatrix Potter books are all beautiful.

17th: Favourite literary detective/policeperson – I have read and really enjoyed most of the Harry Hole books by Jo Nesbo. I also love Sarah Lund from The Killing.

18th: Favourite coming-of-age book – Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.

19th: Favourite seafaring novel – This has got to be Life of Pi.

20th: Favourite literary friendship – I love the friendship between Harry, Ron and Hermione from the Harry Potter books.

21st: A book to turn someone into a reader – I think The Book Thief is a book to inspire other people to read.

22nd: Best book recommended by a bookseller – The last time I went to the bookstore they were recommending the latest book by Haruki Murakami.

23rd: Favourite prize-winning book – I really enjoyed The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton and it won the Booker Prize last year.

24th: Something to do with the 1920s – Without a doubt I’ve got to choose the Jeeves books by P G Wodehouse, because I absolutely love these books. I don’t think there’s anything to rival their capacity to make me laugh out loud.

25th: A book recommended by your parents – My mum recommended the North and South trilogy by John Jakes, and it’s brilliant, set in the American Civil War.

26th: Favourite poetry collection – Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats by T. S. Eliot. I absolutely love the stage musical based on these poems, which is why I’ve chosen this one.

27th: Book set in your favourite country to visit – I really like Cornwall, so am going to say the Poldark books.

28th: Favourite literary troublemaker – Loki from The Gospel of Loki by Joanne M. Harris.

29th: The book that made you question everything – The book which had a massive emotional impact, and stayed with me long after I’d finished reading it, pondering on the way things had been tied up, and how it could have been different (and might be next time) was The Dark Tower by Stephen King.

30th: The best book you read this month – The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters. I loved every single page to the point where I slowed down as the book progressed, just so I could keep reading it for a little bit longer.

7 thoughts on “#BookADayUK September 2014 Update 2

    • pagesandtea says:

      I thought the Danish version was SO great, and I wish they would make another series, but I guess that would be a bit difficult.

      Wodehouse is amazing, such a great sense of comic humour. Hm, one of the best laughs I had was from Right Ho, Jeeves, I literally had to put the book down and stop reading until I could stop laughing, so that would be a good one. I haven’t really come across any of them I haven’t enjoyed so far though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

