Trees of Reverie September 2014 Read-A-Thon: Final Summary

Yet again we’re here at the conclusion of another Read-A-Thon, and yet again it’s been a great experience to be part of. I discovered (predictably) a number of new books which I’ve added to my endless TBR pile, and hopefully I’ll get around to reading at least some of them in the near future.

So, how did I do with my reading goals?

I aimed to read for about half an hour each day, and managed this easily, sometimes losing myself for an entire afternoon within the pages of The Paying Guests, which I loved every moment of. Such a great read. I’ll be posting my review soon, and you’ve probably already guessed, it’s definitely a 4 or 5 star book.

The books I’d planned to read were:

The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters
The Summer Without You by Karen Swan
Before I Go To Sleep by S J Watson
The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell
Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

I completed The Paying Guests and Eleanor and Park, and read from The Summer Without You for one of the challenges below. I started The Bone Clocks, but never managed to get around to Before I Go To Sleep.

I read a total of 1357 pages.

Read-A-Thon Challenges:

The struck through ones are the ones I never managed to attempt or complete. As for the others, I’ve listed which book applies to which challenge.

Read a book by an author you haven’t read before

Read outside – Sitting on the bench in the garden on a nice sunny afternoon, one of the last of this year if the more recent weather is anything to go by.

Read out loud (read a minimum of one full page!) – Yes, I did this one whilst I had a quiet afternoon to myself.

Read a book with an LGBTQ+ character – Frances from The Paying Guests.

Read a book you’ve heard a lot of good things about – Eleanor and Park. Will be posting my review soon.

Read a book with an upcoming movie adaptation

Read a book you’ve been meaning to read – The Paying Guests. I requested this one from the library as soon as I knew it was going to be published, so I was looking forward to it for a while before I actually got my hands on it.

Read a book you’ve had lying around unfinished – definitely The Summer Without You. I have no idea why I’ve been reading this book for so long, because once I got stuck into it I actually quite enjoyed it.

Daily Bookish Challenges:

I participated in quite a few of the challenges during this Read-A-Thon, and have collected my entries into two posts, which you can find here and here.

 

It’s been a great two weeks and I’ve really enjoyed taking part. Needless to say I’ll definitely be signing up for the next one.  A big Thank You to Sarah for hosting the event!

4 thoughts on “Trees of Reverie September 2014 Read-A-Thon: Final Summary

  1. bornandread says:

    Well done on the read-a-thon – I like the idea of doing one of these.

    I’ve heard scuttlebutt that they are turning E&P into a movie, or it’s at least been optioned, so you could technically count that in ‘Read a book with an upcoming movie adaptation’…?! 😉

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      Sorry I’m only just replying, I’ve been away from my blog for a few days 🙂

      I’m sure it could count, why not? 😉 Not sure what I’d make of the movie though, I guess if it’s done well it could be quite good.

      I’m really enjoying taking part in these read-a-thons, so I would recommend having a go. Word of warning though – your TBR list will be HUGE once you’ve done checking out other blogs during the event 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

