Trees of Reverie September 2014 Read-A-Thon: Bookish Challenges Part 2

Day Seven: Saturday, September 20:

What are the genres or types of books that you read least often or not at all?

The genre which comes to mind immediately for me is crime.
I can’t even explain really why I don’t read much in the way of crime, because I’ll watch a good crime drama on TV, but somehow I always feel as if that’s enough for me, and having watched something, be it a one-off or part of a series, I rarely feel compelled to go and read a crime novel.

When I do happen to venture into crime-y waters it tends to be along the lines of the Millennium trilogy by Stieg Larsson, or Jo Nesbo’s Harry Hole books, but never British or American crime.

Whilst thinking of answers for #bookadayuk I came to realise that I’ve never even read any Agatha Christie, and thought I should probably give it a go at least. So, my (very short) list of potential Crime reads is as follows..

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie
The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie
Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie
The Monogram Murders by Sophie Hannah (for a modern take on Poirot)
Any of the DCI Banks books by Peter Robinson (quite enjoyed this on TV)
Silent Scream by Lynda La Plante (again I enjoyed the tv series)

I’ll probably try to read at least one book from this list soon as I like variety in my reading.


 Day Ten: Tuesday, September 23:

Describe your perfect reading experience:

I would have a really long paperback book, just right for holding without being too heavy. My author of choice would probably be George R R Martin or Stephen King, a story I could really lose myself in.
It would be a bright and crisp autumn afternoon and I would be at a lakeside cabin out in the country, somewhere tranquil and quiet, with very few other people around to disturb the perfect peace for reading.
There would be a log fireplace, for lighting when the sun sets and night begins to draw in, but before retreating to read fireside I would sit beside a huge window, with a clear view down onto a vast, clear blue lake, and I’d pause every so often from my reading to watch the sunlight dance over the water, and listen to a gentle breeze rustling through the golden leaves while the birds sing and call out to each other.
I’d drink strong, hot tea with some biscuits, and when I needed a reading break I would walk down to the lake and stand watching the world go by.
Then I would return to my cabin, watch the sunset, then retreat back into my fictional world once more.


 

Day Eleven: Wednesday, September 24:

Which fictional food would you most like to try?

When I’m, feeling incredibly lazy I think it would be amazing to have a whole meal in one sweet, kind of like the chewing gum that Violet Beauregarde tries in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (although without those after-effects, and a sweet, or a toffee, rather than a chewing gum).
Just imagine, no preparing food, no cooking, no clearing everything away afterwards, you’d just take one sweet and have a full three course meal. What could be better? Think how much time it would save, and all the other things you could do instead. Sounds like a good idea to me.


 

Day Thirteen: Friday, September 26:

If you could choose one relatively unknown, underrated or under appreciated book to share with others, which book would you recommend to others?

I’m going to take this opportunity to recommend the North and South trilogy by John Jakes, because it’s such a wonderful series of books yet I’ve never seen anyone writing about having read it.

Set in the American Civil War it follows the fortunes of two families, the Hazards and the Mains who nurture a great friendship only to be divided when war comes due to the fact they are by necessity on opposing sides; one family is from the North and one from the South.
This series has everything – adventure, romance, danger, elegant heroines, strong heroines, dashing heroes and great villains – all set against he backdrop of a bygone age in American history. It’s a great read, and each volume is strong in its own way.

There’s also an excellent mini series starring Patrick Swayze and James Read, filmed in the 1980s, and that is just as great as the books.

3 thoughts on “Trees of Reverie September 2014 Read-A-Thon: Bookish Challenges Part 2

Leave a Reply

