Top Ten Tuesday – Books on my Fall TBR List + Teaser Tuesdays

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week they provide a prompt and other lovers of listmaking join in with their own top ten list.

This weeks theme is:  Books on my Fall TBR List.

 

The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell – It’s making the list, but I’ll probably start this book next as I’ve been looking forward to it for a while now.

The Girl With all the Gifts by M. R. Carey – This one caught my eye whilst out book shopping and I think it will be really good and pretty different, in a good way.

Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen – Another fantasy book that I’m really looking forward to.

The Diviners by Libba Bray – I love the 1920s setting of this, and I’ve read various comments that it’s quite good and quite creepy, so it’s one to savour on the dark autumn nights to come!

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins – Sometimes there is nothing that I enjoy more than a light-hearted story, and I think this will fit the bill.

Before I Go To Sleep by S. J. Watson – I want to try and get this book read before I see the movie.

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas – I’m really looking forward to starting this series as everyone seems to be really positive about it.

The Handsome Man’s De Luxe Café by Alexander McCall Smith – This is the latest instalment from the Ladies No. 1 Detective Agency series. I love these books; they’re such gentle, easy reads.

Fool’s Assassin by Robin Hobb – This will be the first book I’ve read by this author.

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie – Somehow I’ve never read a single book by Agatha Christie, and this book was recommended as a good place to start.


teasertuesdays2014e

Welcome to Teaser Tuesdays.

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

1. Grab your current read
2. Open to a random page
3. Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too muchaway! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
4. Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

 

This week I am reading The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters and it is wonderful.  It’s so good that I’m going to include TWO teasers:

She was at her truest, it seemed to her, in these tingling moments – these moments when, paradoxically, she was also at her most anonymous. But it was the anonymity that did it. She never felt the electric charge when she walked through London with someone at her side.

–    The Paying Guests page 36.

She knew that she herself would find it as hard to confess to an almost-stranger that she had seen a ghost as to admit to believing in elves and fairies.
Which was why, of course, she realised, she never would see a ghost.

–      The Paying Guests, page 83.

42 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books on my Fall TBR List + Teaser Tuesdays

  1. Kaja says:

    Hi, I just have a comment on Robin Hobb’s new book: I know it’s a beginning of a new series but the character, Fitz, actually appears in 2 previous *trilogies* (as in, not only 2, but 6 books), so it might be a good idea to start his story with The Assassin’s Apprentice. I don’t know how much Hobb relies on people knowing Fitz’s story… I haven’t read the second trilogy yet, but the first one was superb. Maybe you know this already but maybe I saved you from some spoilers… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • pagesandtea says:

      Thank you so much for explaining this because I’ve been wondering about it, having got the idea this character had appeared before even though this is listed as book 1. I didn’t know there were 2 other trilogies before this one. I do have The Assassin’s Apprentice on my Kindle, so I might take your advice and start at the beginning, as 6 books is a LOT of story 🙂 Do you know what the second trilogy is called too? Thanks again for your comment.

      Like

  2. Lark @ The Bookwyrm's Hoard says:

    Nice choices, and I love how eclectic the list is – lots of genres! Queen of the Tearlings has been intriguing me, but I’m waiting to put it on my TBR list because the list is so long already. A bunch of the others interest me, too. And I’m always up for an Agatha Christie – have fun with that one!

    Liked by 1 person

    • pagesandtea says:

      A massive TBR list? Sounds just like me – I could have added at least another 10 to this one, and after finding even more new books on other peoples list that number could go even higher. So many books, so little time…

      Like

  3. Sarah C. says:

    I thought The Girl with All the Gifts was amazing; creepy and horrifying, but also thought-provoking, even philosophical. I hope you enjoy it!
    And I am a huge Christie fan, so I hope you enjoy And Then There Were None!

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      Sounds like a great recommendation for the book, I’m really looking forward to starting it. I don’t even know how I’ve managed never to read any Christie before, so am looking forward to discovering a new author.

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      Thanks very much for the recommendation, I’ll have to add that collection to my TBR list. Everyone seems to love Christie so much I can’t believe that somehow I’ve managed to miss out on any of the books. I have a lot of catching up to do 🙂

      Like

      • Cindy Van Wilder says:

        A teacher once told me that I was too old to read such “nonsense” as Christie’s novels. I took therefore great delight in proving to him the opposite. And from that time on, I never stopped 🙂 You’re never too old to catch up on books. I hope you do enjoy Mrs Christie’s books!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

