The Sunday Post #5

SundayPostStacking the ShelvesSSsmall

The Sunday Post is hosted @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news, recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received.  See rules here: Sunday Post Meme

Showcase Sunday is hosted by Vicky @ Books Biscuits and Tea.  For more information about this feature click here.

Stacking The Shelves is hosted by Tynga’s Reviews.  If you want to find out more please visit the official launch page!


I’m really enjoying the Trees of Reverie Read-A-Thon, and have been glued to The Paying Guests all week. I had a list of around 4 books I hoped to read during this challenge, but for now I can’t tear myself away from The Paying Guests. It’s just such a good read that I couldn’t devote any time to another book until it’s done.

I’ve also been participating in the Bookish Challenges which are posted each day, and will be grouping these together into new journal posts in the near future. The ones I’ve already posted are linked at the bottom of this post.

The read-a-thon has also introduced me to the concept of reading sprints, a dedicated session of reading, anything from 15 minutes up to an hour. It’s a great idea, and whilst doing that I move away completely from blogging and Tumblr/Twitter/Wordpress and solely focus on my reading, which is nice, as I’m far too easily distracted by all the good book recommendations to be found on all these websites.

New To My Shelves This Week:

Everything this week is in e-book form.

The Geneva Trap by Stella Rimmington

The Woods by Harlan Coven

Starter for Ten by David Nicholls

Books I’ve Reviewed This Week:

The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

Books That Have Caught My Eye This Week (Must find out more):

Fool’s Assassin by Robin Hobb – I’ve never read anything by this author before, but have heard many good things, so I wondered if I should start by reading this book.

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie – Whilst playing along with #BookADayUK on Twitter I realised that somehow I’ve managed to never read anything at all by Agatha Christie. After receiving some recommendations this title seemed to be something that I might enjoy. I can’t believe I’ve never read anything by this author before!

The Slow Regard of Silent Things by Patrick Rothfuss – I have The Name of the Wind already on my Kindle, but haven’t got around to reading it yet. This book caught my eye because of the lovely cover, and it sounds really good. I wonder if I could read it without having first read the other Kingkiller Chronicles?

Events I’ve participated in:

#bookadayuk is still in progress on Twitter. For more information, see this post on Welovethisbook.com.  I also posted my first update with all the books I’ve thought of so far here.

The Trees of Reverie Read-A-Thon is well underway as mentioned above and I’ve been participating with daily progress updates, which I’ve added to my TBR List and Goals post, and also had a go at some of the daily Bookish Challenges, which I’ve grouped together into a single post (link below).

Other Posts/Summary of Activity on my Blog This Week:

Trees of Reverie Read-A-Thon September 2014  TBR Goals and Progress
Top Ten Tuesday – Authors I’ve Read One Book From And Need To Read More
#BookADayUK so far
Thursday Thoughts – Where Do You Read?
Trees of Reverie Daily Challenges


17 thoughts on “The Sunday Post #5

    • pagesandtea says:

      😀 This sounds SO like me, I’m always finding so many new book recommendations and end up with a HUGE TBR pile and something ends up getting overlooked. Since I started book blogging the problem has only got
      worse!

      Like

  1. Katherine Pitts @ I Wish I Lived in a Library says:

    I’m curious about The Paying Guests and The Miniaturist is on my wishlist! I’m working my way through a massive Agatha Christie reread and thoroughly enjoying revisiting them all. I definitely think And Then There Were None is a great one to start with though it’s a little different from her other books. Have a great week!

    Like

  2. Greg says:

    The Trees of Reverie readathon sounds like fun. I’ve read Fool’s Assassin and the various sequels and they’re good- but Robin Hobb sure knows how to put her protagonists through the ringer! They’re good fantasy books though. And I’ve got And Then There were none on my short list for a readathon coming up…

    Like

  3. fuonlyknew says:

    I’ve not heard of The Paying Guests. I’ll need to check that out going by what I’m reading in the comments here:)
    My reading challenges are to complete my rebiew requests, which will never happen as I keep taking more in, and making a dent in my TBR, which will never happen as I keep taking more in…LOL
    Here is my Sunday Post – http://fuonlyknew.com/2014/09/21/whats-new-on-my-bookshelf-79-and-the-sunday-post-now-thats-a-lot-of-books/

    Like

Leave a Reply

