Top Ten Tuesday – Authors I’ve Only Read One Book From But Want To Read More

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week they provide a prompt and other lovers of listmaking join in with their own top ten list.

This weeks theme is:  Authors I’ve Only Read One Book From But Want To Read More.


I didn’t think I would manage ten when I started compiling this list, as once I find an author I really like I will generally try to seek out as much of their work as I can get my hands on, so I was quite pleased to manage the following seven:

Laini Taylor – I read Daughter of Smoke and Bone and I’m pretty sure I bought the second book in the series too, so I have no idea why I haven’t read it yet, but I know I haven’t. I think I may re-read the first book then carry on, as it seems such a long time since I read it.

Veronica Roth – I read Divergent and quite enjoyed it. I know I intended to read the rest in the series, and I think the only reason I didn’t was that I requested the second book from the library before it came out and for some reason they never actually purchased the book and my request was cancelled. After that I started to read rather mixed reviews about the next books and I just never seemed to find time to revisit the series.

David Mitchell – I read Cloud Atlas, but that’s all I’ve read so far from this author. I have The Bone Clocks ready to read next though, so it’s high on my TBR pile.

Markus Zusak – The Book Thief was so wonderful that I have to keep telling myself that rather than rereading that book, I should discover other works by this author.

Rainbow Rowell – Slightly bending the rules for this one, as I’ve actually read Landline and Fangirl, but I fell so hard for Fangirl that I really, really, absolutely must check out Attachments and Eleanor and Park.

Margaret Atwood – I loved Stone Mattress, which is high praise from a reader who doesn’t normally favour short stories, so I definitely want to read more of Atwood’s work, possibly beginning with the MadAddam trilogy.

James Treadwell – I read a wonderful book by this author called Advent. I believe there’s a second book, and eventually there will be a trilogy, so he definitely makes the list.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Authors I’ve Only Read One Book From But Want To Read More

  1. thenovelprojectchronicles says:

    Haha, I was thinking the same thing – I’ll never get ten authors out of this – but when I got started I realised there were many. 🙂

    Great list. The MaddAdam Trilogy is great, especially if you enjoy speculative fiction but I think my favourite Atwood novel (from the ones I’ve read) is Alias Grace.

    Markus Zusak – yes, I’d love to hear about more of his work beyond the Book Thief.

    My own TTT is here. http://thenovelprojectchronicles.com/the-ten-authors-i-need-to-read-more-of-top-ten-tuesday/

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      Alias Grace, that was another book that caught my eye recently. I think it was just after I finished We Were Liars and read a comment that that book was similar to Alias Grace. I enjoyed Liars so much that I thought I’d have to check out Alias Grace too. Another book for the TBR list then 😀

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I loved the Book Thief, so can’t believe it took me so long to find out Zusak had written other books as well.

      I need to get the final Smoke and Bone book then I’ll have them all and can start reading from the beginning again 🙂

      Like

  2. bornandread says:

    Great list. I am so excited about The Bone Clocks – I have been hearing lots of good things! I have a read a few of his other books, but nothing has come close to Cloud Atlas so far.

    I just finished The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood and I would highly recommend it.

    And yes yes yes, get on to rest of the Laini Taylor series – they are so good. Apparently they are making a movie out of it, which should be interesting (and potentially really disappointing…)

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I thought some of the writing in Cloud Atlas was beautiful and I really enjoyed the film too.

      Will add The Handmaid’s Take to my TBR list.

      From what I remember of DOSAB it could be a great movie, if it’s done well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

