#BookADayUK September 2014 Update 1

I’ve been taking part in #bookadayuk on Twitter and have decided to make a series of posts featuring all the book suggestions I’ve submitted so far.  For more information about BookADayUk, see this post on Welovethisbook.com

1st: Favourite book about books and/or bookshops – 84 Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff

2nd: Favourite book set in a school – Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, or any Harry Potter.  Also Gentlemen and Players by Joanne Harris

3rd: Best Home Front novel  – Goodnight Mister Tom by Michelle Magorian

4th: The book you bought for the cover – I believe there were a couple of options on covers for The Book Thief, but I really liked this one.

5th: The book you bought despite the cover – I can’t honestly say I’ve ever bought a book and been put off by the cover design, but for this option I’ve chosen the later Song of Ice and Fire books, which I bought despite the fact they’ve changed the covers recently and my collection so far were all older editions so they now no longer match.

6th: Favourite book of short stories – Stone Mattress by Margaret Atwood

7th: Favourite fictional monarch  – King Joffrey Baratheon from A Song of Ice and Fire. The monarch we can all love to hate. Unforgettable!

8th: Favourite literary dinner party – I went for the Red Wedding feast during A Storm of Swords. Not the happiest of outcomes, granted, but the writing and the build up to that feast is probably one of the best things I’ve ever read, and I don’t think I’ll ever forget reading it for the first time. So intense.

9th: Literary crush – There are MANY, but to narrow it down to something manageable – George Hazard and Charles Main from John Jakes North and South trilogy, Mr Rochester from Jane Eyre, Father Ralph from The Thorn Birds (SO wrong, but…), Snape from Harry Potter, and Mr Thornton from North and South.

10th: A book that gave you hope – Wake by Anna Hope. This is a gently narrated novel, with a great deal of sadness, and yet by the conclusion I did feel a sense of hopefulness, as various characters went forward to face their futures.

11th: Best book recommended by a librarian – Burial Rites by Hannah Kent. A book about the last woman executed in Iceland sounds a bleak prospect on the surface, but this book was intense and emotional, and the end was just so well written. I really did enjoy this book.

12th: Favourite Austen character – I really like Elizabeth Bennet, closely followed by Mr. Darcy.  I’m a big fan of Pride and Prejudice.

13th: Favourite Roald Dahl character (Roald Dahl Day) – Matilda. I can’t recall I ever read much Dahl in my younger days (!) but I read Matilda because I was going to see the stage musical, and I thought it was wonderful. Incidentally, the musical is utterly magical and definitely worth going to see. The way the magic and power of storytelling is woven into the narrative is just beautiful, and the set, although simple in construction, is a masterpiece.

14th: Character most like you – This is a really tricky one, because nothing instantly comes to mind; I can’t say I’ve read something and been instantly struck with the idea that a certain character is anything like me. If pressed for an answer I’d say I relate to some of Sansa’s character from the later Song of Ice and Fire books, or maybe Cath from Fangirl.

15th: Favourite Agatha Christie story – I really have drawn a blank on this one, because I’ve never read any Agatha Christie! So, maybe now would be the time be make amends? Am definitely willing to accept recommendations.

9 thoughts on “#BookADayUK September 2014 Update 1

  1. eisyasofia says:

    Wow you participated daily. I wish I was able to do so but I am unfamiliar with some of the questions because I haven’t read certain books.

    What do you think about We Love This Book’s storify? I think it’s a great idea for them to compile the tweets and saved them there. However I just wish they chose my ideas more often. Anyway I think you could try storify 🙂

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I couldn’t add much for the Agatha Christie category as I’ve not read any, but did get some good recommendations from the tweets yesterday.

      I’ve been having a look at their Storify and I think it’s a great idea, and a quick way to read through what other people have suggested :). I’d not heard of Storify before this.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

