The Sunday Post #4

SSsmall SundayPost IMG_2789 Stacking the Shelves

Showcase Sunday is hosted by Vicky @ Books Biscuits and Tea.  For more information about this feature click here.

The Sunday Post is hosted @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news, recap the past week, and showcase things we have received.  See rules here: Sunday Post Meme

Stacking The Shelves is hosted by Tynga’s Reviews.  If you want to find out more please visit the official launch page!

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Linda from Silly Little Mischief.


I’ve been feeling a bit under the weather this week, with a cold which is making me feel really tired (great excuse for a nice sit down with a cup of tea and a good book).

New To My Shelves This Week:

Everything this week comes courtesy of one library or another. No matter how many books I already have stacked up on my TBR pile, I’m incapable of going to the library just to browse; I ALWAYS come out with something.

showcase2

Eleanor And Park by Rainbow Rowell – I read Fangirl recently and absolutely loved it. I really enjoyed Landline too, so thought I should check out other works by this author.

The Girl With All The Gifts by M. R. Carey – I stumbled upon this book whilst browsing in the bookshop a few weeks back and kept thinking I would probably get it once I’d read a few of the books on my TBR pile, but recently I’ve read so much positive feedback about it that I didn’t feel like waiting any longer, so I’m looking forward to starting this soon.

The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell – The library have really done me proud this time, for look at this wonderful book. I requested this book ages ago, way before publication, and way before I realised it was long listed for the Booker Prize. I think the cover is absolutely wonderful, and can’t wait to see if the story contained within the pages lives up to my expectations.

Books I’ve Reviewed This Week:

Stone Mattress by Margaret Atwood. Gave this one 5 stars because I loved every minute of every short story (and I’m not generally a reader of short stories).

Books That Have Caught My Eye This Week (Must find out more):

Temeraire by Naomi Novik – Mainly because the cover has been redesigned and that caught my eye, then I realised I’d already purchased the e-book, way back when I first had my e-reader, so now my interest is raised again and I really must get around to reading it.

Anarchy by James Treadwell – I actually cannot believe that I missed this book. I read the first book, Advent a while ago. How has it escaped my notice that the sequel is available? I really must get my hands on this book.

Events I’ve Participated In:

#bookadayuk is still in progress on Twitter.  For more information, see this post on Welovethisbook.com.  I’ll be doing a mid-month progress post on this topic some time next week.

Also, the Trees of Reverie Read-A-Thon has just started, (see HERE for more information) so that will be keeping me occupied for the next couple of weeks. I love read-a-thons, and the idea that so many like-minded people from all around the world are all joining together to participate in a reading event. I always end up finding countess books that I must add to my TBR list whilst browsing blogs.

Other Posts This Week:

Teaser Tuesday – The Miniaturist.
Thursday Thoughts – Cover Changes.

22 thoughts on “The Sunday Post #4

  1. Cait says:

    I just finished The Girl With All the Gifts this week and OH GOSH IT WAS AMAZING! I absolutely loved all the characters and I very nearly sobbed just by the brilliance of the writing and plot. ^-^ I really hope you like it. Sucks about the cold though. Get better soon! My Stacking the Shelves!

    Like

  2. laurahartleyy says:

    I hope you enjoy Eleanor & Park! I really liked Fangirl, but didn’t think that E&P lived up to the hype. Sure, it was a great read, but I don’t think it was quite as good as everyone made it out to be. Maybe you’ll think differently! Happy reading 🙂

    Check out my SS here!

    Laura @ What’s Hot?

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I will definitely try to read more Margaret Atwood if all her work is as good as Stone Mattress. I might try the MadAddam trilogy next I think, or maybe The Blind Assassin as I’m sure I already have a copy of that somewhere.
      Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      🙂 They always have a stand right near the entrance in our library, with all the new books, and I have NO chance of resisiting at all! I haven’t read much Atwood either, and am thinking I might try Oryx and Crake some time, but Stone Mattress is definitely worth a read.

      Like

  3. Lory @ Emerald City Book Review says:

    I really must read some Rainbow Rowell. She seems to be a rising star. I loved Temeraire! and the long-running series didn’t lose my interest, as many do. I’ll be interested to know what you think, if you do get around to it.

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      It’s funny, I think it was one of the very first books I bought for my Kindle, then for some reason never got around to reading – in fact, I bet if I go through my Kindle I bought more in the same series, so I’m glad it held your interest, and I’m looking forward to starting it soon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

