Trees of Reverie September 2014 Read-A-Thon Reading Goals and TBR List

How much do you plan on reading?

I would like to read for at least half an hour each day. Aside from that I don’t really have any targets. I tend to get distracted during read-a-thons with checking out other peoples blogs and adding to my TBR list, which I love just as much as reading, so I’ll be happy with whatever I manage to read. From the list below I hope I’ll finish at least one book, but as long as I read something from each of them, I’ll be happy.

List of the books you plan to read –

The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters
The Summer Without You by Karen Swan
Before I Go To Sleep by S J Watson
The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell
Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Why did you choose these books?

Most of them are from the library and have requests on them, so some of it is necessity, although I’ve been eagerly awaiting the release of both The Paying Guests and The Bone Clocks, so I would certainly have been reading those books now anyway. I’ve also had it in mind to read more Rainbow Rowell novels too, so now seems like the perfect opportunity to do that.

What do you look forward to reading the most?

The Paying Guests. I’ve read a few Sarah Waters novels before and really enjoyed them, so I have high hopes for this book.

Do any of these books count towards some Reading Challenges?

I’m doing the Goodreads challenge, and have challenged myself to read 35 books this year, so anything I manage to finish will go towards that total. I’m also including a list of read-a-thon challenges that have caught my attention, and hopefully some of the books will count towards those goals as well.

Potential Read-A-Thon Challenges:

Read a book by an author you haven’t read before
Read outside
Read out loud (read a minimum of one full page!)
Read a book with an LGBTQ+ character
Read a book you’ve heard a lot of good things about
Read a book with an upcoming movie adaptation
Read a book you’ve been meaning to read
Read a book you’ve had lying around unfinished

Progress Updates:

Sunday 14th Sept:  

I’ve had a leisurely start to the read-a-thon, and managed to read 50 pages of The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters. Sometimes you find a book that you fall straight into right from the very first page, and that’s what has happened for me with this book. I’m really immersed in the world of Frances and her house guests, and can’t wait to read more.

I’ve also participated in the first of the Daily Bookish Challenges, and am going to make a post featuring some of my entries later during the week.  EDIT:  Day 1 Challenge

I really want to have a go at some reading sprints too. I think I’ll read one of my other books for these, so I’m making progress on more than one book each day.

Number of pages I’ve read today: 50
Total number of pages I’ve read: 50

Monday 15th Sept:

Another decent days reading today. I had hoped to read a variety of books during the read-a-thon, but at the moment The Paying Guests has me so devoted to the characters and story that I don’t think I could tear myself away in favour of something else. It’s a really good read, so I’ll stick with it for now.

I participated in the second of the Daily Bookish Challenges, asking you to talk about your favourite author and their books.  I could have written so much more on this topic, but thought I’d better limit myself at least a little bit!  Posted HERE

Number of pages I’ve read today: 60
Total number of pages I’ve read: 110

Tuesday 16th Sept:

Still reading The Paying Guests. Still can’t bring myself to put it aside in favour of one of my other read-a-thon TBRs, so it’s onwards with this great story.

I wrote an entry for the Daily Bookish Challenge day 3, about my dream bookshop, which I’m pretty certain was once a real place.  Will be posting my challenge entries later on this week. EDIT:  Posted HERE

Number of pages I’ve read today: 70
Total number of pages I’ve read: 180

Wednesday 17th Sept:

I managed to read quite a lot today, and, you guessed right, I devoted my reading time to more of The Paying Guests. I really don’t think I’m going to be able to read another book until I’ve finished this one. It really is a good read, and I have a feeling we’re reaching a pivotal moment in the story, so I couldn’t possibly set it aside right now.

Number of pages I’ve read today: 120
Total number of pages I’ve read: 300

Thursday 18th Sept:

I don’t feel as though I’ve had much time to devote to reading today, and wish I’d had more, but I did manage to read another 80 pages, so all is not lost. Guess which book I’m still reading?

Number of pages I’ve read today: 80
Total number of pages I’ve read: 380

Friday 19th Sept:

Another slow-ish day of reading today. I don’t know why but there seemed to be countless other things requiring attention. I did still manage to get some reading done, and I’m still really enjoying The Paying Guests. As I’m reaching the latter stages of the book my mind has turned to writing a review, and I’m wondering if I can do the book justice.

Number of pages I’ve read today: 70
Total number of pages I’ve read: 450

Saturday 20th Sept:

I’ve been out today so haven’t much time chance to read, but I did manage to grab another 50 pages of The Paying Guests. I wonder if at this point I’m deliberately slowing down with my reading because I don’t want this book to end? It’s definitely possible.

I wrote an entry for Day 7’s Bookish Challenge too, which will be included in my next Challenge update post.

Number of pages I’ve read today: 50
Total number of pages I’ve read: 500

Sunday 21st Sept:

I finished reading The Paying Guests. I really have enjoyed this book a lot, and will be writing up a review for it sometime in the near future. So, before I start my next read, I might have another few pages of The Summer Without You. After that it will be on to Eleanor and Park and the The Bone Clocks.

Number of pages I’ve read today: 566
Total number of pages I’ve read: 566

Monday 22nd Sept:

Thought I’d tackle a few pages of a book that I’ve had lying around for one of the Reading Challenges, so went for The Summer Without You and managed 80 pages. I don’t know why I’ve been reading this book for so long, because when I come back to it it’s actually quite good. I think I’m easily distracted by new library books which I know will have long waiting lists and therefore a limited loan period.

Number of pages I’ve read today: 80
Total number of pages I’ve read: 646

Tuesday 23rd Sept:

I’ve had a really good day of reading today, and managed to read some from two books – The Summer Without You and Eleanor and Park.

Number of pages I’ve read today: 154
Total number of pages I’ve read: 800

Wednesday 24th Sept:

Today I’ve been reading from two books – I read 135 pages of Eleanor and Park, and 70 pages of The Summer Without You, which I’m getting on with quite well at the moment. I really want to start reading The Bone Clocks, but I think I’ll stick with Summer for a short while longer.

Number of pages I’ve read today: 205
Total number of pages I’ve read: 1005

Thursday 25th Sept:

So, what did I manage to read today? Well, I read the last 90 pages of Eleanor and Park, so I’ve finished that book now, and will be adding a review soon, and I also read another 70 pages of The Summer Without You. I really want to starting reading The Bone Clocks today as well, so not sure how much more progress I’ll make on Summer.

Number of pages I’ve read today: 160
Total number of pages I’ve read: 1165

Friday 26th Sept:

I’ve started reading The Bone Clocks!  So far it’s really good, and I can’t wait to read more.  For now I’ve read 72 pages, and I read another 40 from The Summer Without You.

I’ve also written entries for some more of the bookish Challenges, and will be putting them all together into a separate post soon.

Number of pages I’ve read today: 112
Total number of pages I’ve read: 1277

Saturday 27th Sept:

I can’t believe the end is in sight! It’s been great, and over all too soon. I’ll be posting a final summary post some time after this, but for now I want to lists my last day’s reading progress.

I read another 50 pages of The Summer Without You and another 30 pages of The Bone Clocks.

I’ll be posting my final Read-A-Thon summary separately in a little while.

Number of pages I’ve read today: 80
Total number of pages I’ve read: 1357

3 thoughts on “Trees of Reverie September 2014 Read-A-Thon Reading Goals and TBR List

Leave a Reply

