The Sunday Post #3

SSsmall SundayPost Stacking the ShelvesIMG_2789

Showcase Sunday is hosted by Vicky @ Books Biscuits and Tea.  For more information about this feature and how to join in click here.

The Sunday Post is hosted @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news, recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received.  See rules here: Sunday Post Meme

Stacking The Shelves is hosted by Tynga’s Reviews.  If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Linda from Silly Little Mischief.


 

Not a bad week in terms of reading for me. I’ll probably finish Stone Mattress very soon, which has been a wonderful read.  I’m always a little anxious for my next read when I’ve just finished something so good!

New to my shelves this week:

Firstly, my Library Loot, which in a rare turn of events only consists of one book this week.  It is the new Sarah Waters novel, The Paying Guests. I was really pleased to get the email saying this one was available, as I’ve read her previous books and enjoyed them, so I’m looking forward to starting this.

For the first time in I don’t know how long I actually purchased books.  Not just one, but two!

It happened quite out of the blue. I’ve been thinking of reading Throne Of Glass for a while now. Every blog I see has nothing but the highest praise for the series, and I rather feel as though I may be missing out on something. I’ve had the e-book on my Wishlist for a while now, but kept holding back because I have SO many other books to read.
Then I saw it on Twitter that the book was 51p for a short time only. I’ve never moved so fast in my life. I have a feeling that this purchase is going to lead to a few more, but that’s good, isn’t it?

I also bought Before I Go To Sleep as an e-book too.  I’m pretty certain I borrowed this one from the library a couple of times, but somehow never got around to reading it because I had too many other things to read (familiar story!), so now there’s no excuse for not reading it.

Books I’ve Reviewed This Week:

We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler

Books That Have Caught My Eye This Week (Must find out more):

The Taxidermist’s Daughter by Kate Mosse  – I’ve read most of this author’s work up to date, so was pleased to find out that she has a new book coming out.  I’m definitely looking forward to getting my hands on a copy of this.

Events I’ve participated in:

#bookadayuk on Twitter.   I’m going to make a post featuring all the suggestions for books that I’ve submitted so far, possible some time next week.  It’s running all through this month.  For more information, see this post on Welovethisbook.com

Also, there is going to be another Trees of Reverie Read-A-Thon starting very soon, so if anyone is interested in joining in (this will be my second) then see HERE for more information

Other Posts This Week:

Top Ten Tuesday – Characters at my Dinner Table
Thursday Thoughts – Audio books

19 thoughts on “The Sunday Post #3

  1. Cait says:

    I’m glad you snagged Throne of Glass! It’s my favourite series of this year for sure. 😉 Although I hope the hype doesn’t spoil it for you or anything…because that would suck. STILL. I’m really keen for book #3 that’s just out!
    My Sunday Post!

    Like

  2. Iza Bzh says:

    I *WANT* to read Before I go to sleep, I have to ! Sarah Waters is great and I’ll be reading The throne of glass very soon. I haven’t read Kate Moss yet but her reputation is preceding her. Great haul, girl, enjoy and have a great week !

    Like

  3. fangswandsfairy says:

    I haven’t read any writers you mention above. Isn’t is amazing we can read so much and not all read the same thing. I did buy Top Secret Twenty-One by Janet Evanovich with an Audible credit I have floating around. And I listened to it in one day. Bizarre!

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I really wish I’d read the KAren Joy Fowler without any idea what the twist was going to be, because I think it would have changed my opinion completely, so I’d love to know what you think about it. Stone Mattress is definitely worth a read!

      Have a great week!

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      Stone Mattress is absolutely brilliant, I’ll be posting my review this week – I really recommend it. Definitely curious about The Taxidermist’s Daughter as I’ve enjoyed other books by the same author, so it’s one I’ll look forward to.

      Enjoy your week 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

