Thursday Thoughts – Audiobooks

Thursday Thoughts

 

Thursday Thoughts is an original, weekly meme created on Ok, Let’s Read.  Each weeka new, conversational topic is posted to encourage talking about a specific, book-related topic.

This weeks topic is Audiobooks.

Recently I received an email from my library, informing about upcoming events and activities. It also listed the newest additions to their online audiobook catalogue. I was immediately interested in the featured title, and decided to read up more about the story. I think it’s marvellous that libraries are starting to offer free access online to audiobooks, and I’m sure it will open up the service to new members, some of whom may never have considered using the library before.

My own relationship with audiobooks is a little contradictory. In theory, I think they after wonderful; you can have all the pleasure of a story, but the freedom to indulge in it whilst doing other things, like driving, or gardening, or, in my case, cross stitching.
Herein though lies the essential problem for me – when listening to an audiobook, I often don’t feel fully engaged or focused, and find myself needing to relisten to certain passages when I’ve lost the thread. It’s probably my own fault, for trying to do two things at once. A story needs the entirety of my attention to get the most of it, so then I come back to thinking that if I’m giving my undivided attention to a story, then I might as we’ll be reading a physical book instead.
I know someone who says something similar about reading on an e-reader; she doesn’t find that she takes in what she has read. I don’t find this, and like to read either books or e-books, but I do think the same thing applies to me and audiobooks. Perhaps it’s simply a matter of adapting to a different method of reading, and if I tried it more often I would become accustomed to it?

So, while I love audiobooks in theory, and that they’re so readily available, for the time being I think I’ll be sticking to physical books, although I do feel tempted to give audio another try at some point.

12 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts – Audiobooks

  1. becquij says:

    I completely agree with you here – I’ve always loved the idea of audiobooks but I too never feel fully engaged with them. I thought they would be great for whilst at the gym on the crosstrainer ect. but I found I wasn’t a) listening to the book properly and b) not concentrating on the workout either! 😦

    Like

  2. tiffnanny says:

    I have been known to have the same need to re-listen, but only if there is a lot going on. For example, I tried listening to the Raven Boys on audio and I was so confused! I tried more than once and then eventually gave up. I feel pretty confident I’ll have more success reading the book 🙂

    Like

  3. Lark @ The Bookwyrm's Hoard says:

    I have experienced the same thing with audiobooks, so I’ve learned only to listen to them when what I’m doing doesn’t require real thought. For instance: walking or stationary biking, driving (in light traffic, not heavy), washing dishes, dusting, folding laundry, knitting (plain or a pattern that’s so repetitive my hands do it without thinking.) And I do love them for that sort of thing – it makes a boring, mundane task so much more interesting.

    I don’t seem to have much trouble remembering what I read in an ebook, though.

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I think I’ll probably give them another go. I would really like to listen to one whilst I do cross stitch, but I have to concentrate on the pattern for that quite a lot so I’m not sure whether it will be successful.

      I think I recall my ebooks as well as my ‘real’ books too. Sometimes I love my ereader, when I think of the alternative being carrying around an 800+ page hardback 🙂

      Like

  4. Reviews from a Bookworm says:

    I like the idea of audiobooks and think they’re brilliant, but I don’t think they would work for me. I think I’d get distracted whilst listening and miss things. I prefer reading the book myself. Although, I probably should give a few more audiobooks a try and see what I think.

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I agree! I really do love the idea of them, because I would get through so much more reading, but so far I haven’t really had a great deal of success with them. I will certainly try another one though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

