Top Ten Tuesday – Characters At My Dinner Table

image

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week they provide a prompt and other lovers of listmaking join in with their own top ten list.

This weeks theme is:  Characters at my Lunch Table.

I’ve done a slight variation on the theme this week, as I think most of the characters I’d want to share a table with I’ve probably discovered many moons after high school became a distant memory.  So, without further ado, this is my dream list of the great and the good/bad/those of questionable morals who I would invite to my dream dinner party…

Erik from Susan Kay’s Phantom – I’ve always loved the Phantom of the Opera, more the stage musical than the original novel, for it makes the character of phantom, Erik, more humane, and Kay’s novel fleshes him out even further into a charismatic figure with whom I’m sure it would be wonderful to share a dinner table.

Mr Rochester from Jane Eyre – Brooding and romantic, troubled by his past but ultimately capable of redemption, and with a sense of fun and cleverness (remember the fortune teller?), I’ve always found Rochester to one of the more captivating heroes from classic literature.

Snape from Harry Potter – Do I really need a reason? Okay, because in the end his loyalty and love for Lily and the way his story concluded made me cry, and there are only a few things in literature that have achieved that. He’s something of an unexpected hero, and I’m always drawn to that type of character.

Brienne of Tarth from A Song of Ice and Fire – I love strong female characters, and Brienne is definitely that. I love how she goes against the ‘norm’, becoming a fearsome warrior in a world where that’s not particularly expected. I loved the tale in one of the books where she said she would marry a man only if he could beat her in combat. I don’t think it’s too much of a spoiler to say that he couldn’t. She’s just great.

Cath form Fangirl – We could talk fandom and fanfic writing. It doesn’t happen especially often, but sometimes a story will captivate me so thoroughly that I always feel tempted to reach for the computer and write something vaguely fic-ish.

Jareth the Goblin King from Labyrinth – He has magic, he has a whole Labyrinth to run around in, he’s quite possibly immortal, he also has a darker side but eventually meets his match in the form of a human girl. What’s not to love?

Tyrion Lannister AKA The Imp from A Song of Ice and Fire – His wit and wisdom are unequalled, and for this reason he’d be a great dinner companion. Also, he could no doubt recommend some quality beverages for the party too, and perhaps even bring some along.

Roland Deschain – the Gunslinger from Stephen King’s Dark Tower series would be more than welcome to stop off for a break from his never-ending quest to refresh himself at the dinner party, in exchange for some stories of his younger days before Gilead fell.

Bertie Wooster – The comedic relief, he could be the life and soul of the party, brightening things up when the darker characters become a little overwhelming. He could regale the group with stories of his antic with his fellow Drones, and possibly as an extra bonus he could bring Jeeves along too.

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Characters At My Dinner Table

Leave a Reply

