The Sunday Post

SSsmall SundayPost Stacking the Shelves IMG_2789

Showcase Sunday is hosted by Vicky @ Books Biscuits and Tea.  For more information about this feature and how to join in click here.

The Sunday Post is hosted @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news, recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received.  See rules here: Sunday Post Meme

Stacking The Shelves is hosted by Tynga’s Reviews.  If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!

Library Loot is co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Linda from Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library.


 

Do you ever have one of those weeks when you feel like you haven’t achieved as much as you would like to in terms of reading? I think I’ve had one of those weeks. I’ve read, but not as much as I have in previous weeks while Bout of Books was going on.

New to my shelves this week:

All of the books below are my Library Loot.
I may have said it before, but I’ll repeat myself… I LOVE LIBRARIES. I love them so much that the haul below has been gathered from two different libraries.

showcase

Stone Mattress by Margaret Atwood – I was really excited to find this book at the local library. It was the day of publication; I’d been reading about the book online, then decided to call into the library on my way home and this was the first book that caught my eye on the ‘Latest Books’ shelf. I couldn’t believe it was just there, waiting – I thought there would have been a request list for it. Needless to say, it didn’t sit on that shelf for long. Even though I already have at least ten library books out on loan, I bough this one too.

Half Bad by Sally Green – I requested this one a while ago, then saw something called #worldsbiggestbookclub on Twitter, which I’d never heard of before, and realised their September book was going to be this one.

The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton – I saw this on an online bookstore’s coming soon’ section a while ago, and was immediately drawn to the cover. When I read what it was about I thought I’d give it a try.

Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo – The second in the Grisha trilogy. I thought I would wait a little longer before returning to Alina’s world, but then I loved the ending of the first book so much that I didn’t think I could stand to wait, and so, here it is, just ready for me to read.

The Collected Works Of A. J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin – Saw this one recommended on a blog post on books about books and it really caught my eye, so I was really happy that the library had it and can’t wait to read it.

Books I’ve Reviewed This Week:

Wake by Anna Hope

Books That Have Caught My Eye This Week (Must find out more):

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch – I don’t think this is out yet, but it sounds like something I might enjoy.

If I Stay by Gayle Forman – I actually saw the trailer for the movie before I even realised it was based on a book. As soon as I discovered this, of course I wanted to know more about the book. I’m always torn between reading the book first or seeing the movie first. Sometimes I find it distracting if I’ve read the book and they make big changes to the story, because I keep thinking ‘it wasn’t like that in the book’.

Events I’ve participated in:

Okay, it’s not strictly an event, but it is something new to me. I signed up to Bloglovin’. I’ve been pondering on whether I should do this for a while, then read a pretty convincing post about how to do it and how it all works.
What initially deterred me was the technicalities involved, for as much as I love using my blog to write about books, I’m not technically minded at all when it comes to computers.
Well, if anyone has the same doubts – IT WAS SO EASY! Please don’t be deterred for as long as I was. In a matter of mere moments I was all signed up and had added various links to my blog so people can follow. I really wish I’d done it sooner.

22 thoughts on “The Sunday Post

  1. Iza Bzh says:

    Bloglovin is a very useful tool when it comes to following blogs, it saved me a lot of trouble. I love that you love libraries 🙂 And tea ! Enjoy your great book haul !

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I couldn’t believe my luck. It was so strange, having just been reading some recent Margaret Atwood interviews just before I left home that morning.
      I haven’t read the Madaddam trilogy, but think I might give it a try after finishing this one. That or The Blind Assassin.

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I thought I’d carry straight on and read the final book too, then realised the library haven’t had it yet, so I’m trying to hold off reading Seige for a little while (although I don’t think I’ll be able too :D)

      Like

  2. Lark @ The Bookwyrm's Hoard says:

    Hello from a fellow book- and tea-lover! (Also a fellow eclectic book blogger; I review fantasy, mystery, romance, and a smattering of other stuff, from adult to YA to middle-grade.)

    I like Bloglovin; it lets me gather all the blogs I follow (some faithfully and some occasionally) in one place.

    And I’m a big fan of libraries, too! I have a card for our local county library, but I also pay to use the 6-county library in our nearest small city, about 1/2-hour from us, because it’s much bigger. I can request books online and have them delivered to the headquarters branch, which is the closest to me. Heaven!

    The Miniaturist just came out in the States; I put a hold on it, but it will be a while. And I need to read The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry, too (that’s the US title) — it sounds wonderful!

    Have a great week and happy reading! BTW, what’s your favorite kind of tea?

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      Hi 🙂

      Thanks for checking out my blog.

      Your 6-county library sounds amazing. I imagine there are not many books that they struggle to get hold of.

      That variation in the title of the Fikry book confused me at first. When I saw the recommendation it was for The Storied Life, but on my library catalogue they only had The Collected Works, then I realised it was still the same book. I’m really looking forward to reading that, but have gone for The Miniaturist first as that one has a few holds on so will have to go back.

      As for teas, I’ve tried all sorts but for me you can’t beat plain old English Breakfast, brewed nice and strong – heaven 🙂

      Have a good week!

      Like

  3. Booketta says:

    I am all in favour of supporting libraries and I try to use mine on a pretty regular basis. I use Bloglovin’ as a tool to follow blogs but I am not sure I am using it to full advantage.

    Like

  4. journeythroughfiction says:

    I love Bloglovin’, it’s so easy to used, and organise all the blogs I follow 🙂 I just finished up reading Smoke and Bone this morning, and I completely agree about the ending. I like leaving a bit of a gap between books in a series, but I think I might make and exception. I need to know what happens! Have a great week, and enjoy your books 🙂

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I saw the final book in the Grisha trilogy in the bookshop this morning too. The library haven’t had it in stock yet for some reason, and I was SO tempted to buy it. Hopefully by the time I’ve read the second book the library will come through and have bought some copies, because I don’t think I could stand to wait too long 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

