The Sunday Post

SSsmall  SundayPost  Stacking the Shelves

Showcase Sunday is hosted by Vicky @ Books Biscuits and Tea.  For more information about this feature and how to join in click here.

The Sunday Post is hosted @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news, recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received.  See rules here: Sunday Post Meme

Stacking The Shelves is hosted by Tynga’s Reviews.  If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!


The first thing I must mention this Sunday is We Were Liars. Technically it’s not a new purchase for this week, but I finished reading it this week and can’t stop thinking about how great it was. After much pondering about how to word my review (it’s SO difficult to do this book justice without giving too much away) I actually managed to get it written, and you can read it by following the link below.

In other book related news…

New To My Shelves This Week:

showcase1

The Diviners by Libba Bray.

We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler.

I picked both those books up at the library, which will give me an incentive to get started on one of them, as the loan is for three weeks and there are definitely other people waiting for We Are All… as it’s been longlisted for the Booker Prize.

And, for my bookish item purchase of the week – I was having a wander around the bookshop the other day and came across some little arrow shaped page markers. They’re in a set of 8, all different colours, and I couldn’t resist getting some, because I’m always trying to mark pages for quotes or memorable passages which I know I’ll want to come back to, so they seemed like a good idea.

Books I’ve Reviewed This Week:

We were Liars by E Lockhart

The Book Of Life by Deborah Harkness

Books That Have Caught My Eye This Week (Must find out more):

The Girl With All The Gifts by M. R. Carey

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

The Rabbit Back Literature Society by Pasi Ilmari Jaaskelainen

Events I’ve Participated In:

The Bout of Books Read-A-Thon. My progress updates are here.

16 thoughts on “The Sunday Post

  1. Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know says:

    I’ve heard so many good things about We Were Liars. I haven’t been able to read it yet myself. Maybe one day I’ll get my hands on it! Those little page markers sound cute. I’ve gone to taking pictures of the pages I want to note with my phone. It’s helped me out a lot. Hope you have a great week!

    SP & STS
    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

    Like

    • timeforpagesandtea says:

      I’m about 60 pages into We Are All… and so far it’s pretty good, and the writing is really clever. I have a feeling I’ll come to the twist in the tale soon, which I hope I haven’t guessed already. It’s definitely worth a read.

      Like

  2. Rita H DuffyGal says:

    I have We Were Liars, and hope to read it soon, before someone spills the surprise ending 🙂
    We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves has been on my radar for awhile, as is The Book of Life (I only read the first one).

    Like

    • timeforpagesandtea says:

      I hope you read Liars before you get spoiled, because that ending… Never saw it coming! I think you’d still enjoy it if you knew, but it’s just something a bit special.

      I think I’m going to start We Are All… next, as that’s another book which is supposed to have a good twist. I’ve read a couple of comments which make me wonder if I’ve guessed what it is, but I hope I’m wrong 🙂

      Like

  3. Katherine P says:

    We Were Liars was so hard to review! I enjoyed it too and it’s definitely one that has stuck with me. I’m curious about We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves. What a title! Have a great week!

    Like

    • timeforpagesandtea says:

      I’ve read about 60 pages so far and it’s really well written so I’m enjoying it. I think the twist is supposed to be about half way through, so I’m looking forward to that, and hopefully once it’s revealed the book will still be as good.

      Like

Leave a Reply

