Top Ten Tuesday – Books I MUST Read

image

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week they provide a prompt and other lovers of listmaking join in with their own top ten list.

This weeks theme is:  Books people have been telling me I MUST read.

1. We Were Liars by E Lockhart – I’ve seen and read so many good things about this book that I was really excited to get a copy from the library and I can’t wait to start it.

2. Wake by Anna Hope – High praise for this book came from a work colleague, who said it’s one of the very best books he’s read this year (and he reads a lot).

3. The Diviners by Libba Bray – I’ve seen many blogs recommending this book, and it’s an era which has always appealed to me, so I really must give it a go.

4. Life After Life by Kate Atkinson – Another recommendation from a colleague. I really MUST get around to this one, because I borrowed it from the library but never read it before it had to go back, and then I downloaded it as an ebook and it’s just sitting there waiting for me.

5. Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning – Another one I’ve found by good reviews on blogs. I love all things fae, so this is a must-read for me.

6. We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler – This one is on the Booker Prize longlist, and has been recommended to me by a few people at work who all really enjoyed it.

7. The Iron King by Julie Kagawa – Another series I’ve seen highly praised on a number of book blogs. The fae theme really appeals to me, and it’s the first in a series, so definitely one for future consideration.

8. Behind The Scenes At The Museum by Kate Atkinson – Someone told me only this past weekend how brilliant this book is. She was so enthusiastic about it and couldn’t praise it highly enough that I became intrigued.

9. The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt – Very good but very long, so people say. Yet another book that’s on my ereader which people keep asking me, ‘have you read it yet?’. No, not yet, but I WILL, I really will.

10. Scaredy Cat by Mark Billingham – I don’t normally read crime fiction, but apparently this is a good story.

 

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books I MUST Read

  1. tiffnanny says:

    I have the Goldfinch on my list too! My sister-in-law just finished it this weekend and demanded I give it a go asap. I didn’t realize it was so long though, so maybe I’ll get it as an audiobook…

    Like

Leave a Reply

