Showcase Sunday and Library Loot

SSsmall

Inspired by Pop Culture Junkie and the Story Siren, the aim of Showcase Sunday is to highlight our newest books or book related swag and to see what everyone else received for review, borrowed from libraries, bought in bookshops and downloaded onto eReaders each week. For more information about how this feature works and how to join in, click here.

IMG_2789

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Linda from Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries.

This is my first time writing a blog post for these features, and I think it works for both as it’s a chance for me to show off my latest bookish gains, which this week are all courtesy of my local library.  I absolutely love visiting the library.  Every time I read about potential library cuts and closures it makes me shudder.  I couldn’t imagine not being able to travel merely a mile or so down the road and stock up on new books to read.

IMG_2793.JPG

The Summer Without You by Karen Swan – I actually picked this one up a couple of weeks ago, having enjoyed previous novels by this author. It’s a genre I don’t tend to read that much, so I. Looking forward to the change. Reading some of this is one of my goals for Bout Of Books, which starts tomorrow.

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart – Another of my Bout Of Books goals, to read this book, so I was glad the library came through for me as I had to request this book from another branch.

Wake by Anna Hope – I was surprised to find a copy of this on the library shelves as I’ve heard so many good things about it and when I checked the catalogue there were quite a few requests on it, but there it was, just sitting there, almost like it was waiting for me.

Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning – I really enjoy a good fantasy story, and have recently read a few books featuring the Fae, which is found quite intriguing, so I can’t wait to get going with this book, which is the first in a series.

So, that’s my lot for this week.  Hopefully I’ll get around to a couple of these during the Bout Of Books Read-A-Thon.

Leave a Reply

